Thursday, March 28, 2019

Shitkid Announce New LP '[DETENTION]', Stream Title Track

Swedish lo-fi pop/alternative band ShitKid (lead by Åsa Söderqvist), have announced the release of their new album '[DETENTION]'.

The follow-up to 2017's debut Fish, will be out on May 10 via PNKSLM Recordings. Pre-order your copy here.

Moving on from her lo-fi pop beginnings [DETENTION] finds Söderqvist and bassist Lina Ericsson recording in a studio for the first time, offering up a fully fleshed full band sound veering into pop-punk and alternative rock territory.

Together, the pair are set to release eight new tracks that Söderqvist says were inspired by her nostalgic love of pop-punk music: “I started listening to the bands that I loved in school again, and I felt inspired by it. It’s a genre that’s quite embarrassing to go back to, and I knew that would make it really fun. I used to be emo in 2008, and now nobody plays that music anymore! There’s nothing about being kids and nobody understanding you. It felt like time to bring it back.”

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to the title track below.

02. RoMaNcE
03. Last Mistake
04. SuMmEr BrEaK
05. Home Wondering (I dont wanna go to prom)
06. Summer '18
07. Grown-ups are KiDS
08. Lost in a DreamWorld


Tags: ShitKid

Watch: Big Wild Premieres "City of Sound" Music Video

Portland electronic/dance/pop artist Big Wild (aka Jackson Stell) has premiered the video for his catchy single “City of Sound".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from his debut 'Superdream', released last Friday (February 1st) via Counter Records. Buy it here.

The video was directed by Tim Fox. Check out below.


Tags: Big Wild

Watch: DIET. Drop Music Video For New Single "What To Do"

Melbourne surf pop/rock/jangle pop band DIET. have dropped the video for their new single "What To Do".

The song is part of our current playlist and will be out tomorrow (March 28).

"The track talks about feeling as though you have it all sorted, but then life throws you a swift reminder not to be cocky," says the band on the single, noting that although it seems quite upbeat and lively, it comes with lyricism a touch on the downside. "It’s about being back to ‘square one’, and realising that now the process of figuring out how to move forward begins."

The video was shot, directed and edited by Brae Fisher. Check out below.


Tags: DIET.

Interpol Announce New EP 'A Fine Mess', Stream "The Weekend"

New York indie rock/alt band Interpol have announced they will release their new EP 'A Fine Mess', on May 17th via Matador.

Recorded during time spent in upstate New York with Dave Fridmann, the five songs gradually emerged as a body of work with a narrative and flow unto itself.

The title track received further production from Kaines & Tom A.D. and mixing from Claudius Mittendorfer, who had first worked with Interpol as engineer on Our Love To Admire. The resulting set is a living, breathing postcard from the band to their fans as they tour the world throughout 2019, and a linear continuation of the visceral and contagious energy set loose with Marauder.

From the beguiling refrain of the title track, to the soulful topsy-turvy of ‘No Big Deal’, cathartic chorus of long sought-after live favourite ‘Real Life’, anthemic swell of ‘The Weekend’, and angular shades of ‘Thrones’, A Fine Mess is a bracing and distinct entry in Interpol’s oeuvre.

Pre-order the EP here, check out he tracklist and listen to new single 'The Weekend', below.

01. Fine Mess
02. No Big Deal
03. Real Life
04. The Weekend
05. Thrones

Watch: Foals Unveil Music Video For "Cafe D'Athens"

Oxford UK indie rockers Foals have unveiled the video for "Cafe D'Athens".

The song is taken from their new album 'Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost' Part 1, which came out last Friday (March 8) via Transgressive/Warner Bros. Buy it here.

Watch the video below.