Thursday, November 03, 2016

GUM To Release New Album 'Flash in the Pan' Next Week, Watch a Teaser

Tame Impala/Pond multi-instrumentalist Jay Watson's side-project GUM has announced the release of his new studio album titled 'Flash in the Pan'.

The follow-up to last year's sophomore album 'Anesthetized Lesson', will be out on November 11 via Spinning Top Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Check out the tracklist, and watch a teaser below.

01. Flash in the Pan
02. Gemini
03. If You're Gonna Love Again
04. Deep Razz
05. Ophelia
06. Heatwave
07. Deep Heat
08. Rares
09. Honey (Don't Cry)
10. Don't Let Time Get You Down
11. Flash in Japan
12. Distorted Star
13. Carnarvon

UPDATE 4/11: GUM has released his new single "Gemini", listen below.


Toro Y Moi Announces New Album With the Mattson 2, Airs New Song "Star Stuff"

Toro Y Moi (aka Chaz Bundick) has announced a new collaborative album with the Mattson 2 (aka identical twins Jared and Jonathan)', titled 'Chaz Bundick Meets the Mattson 2'.

The album  "is the kind of record that only comes about every once in a blue moon. It slips into existence by the merest margins at the very edge of universal consciousness and then expands to fill a vacuum that we didn’t know needed filling until it appeared full right before us." It will be out on March 31 next year via Company Record, and is available to pre-order here

Check the tracklist and listen to their new single "Star Stuff" below. 

Chaz Bundick Meets the Mattson 2 Tracklist:
01. Sonmoi
02. A Search
03. JBS
04. Star Stuff
05. Steve Pink
06. Disco Kid
07. Don’t Blame Yourself
08. Cascade


Tags: Toro Y Moi

Watch: Night Moves Premiere Music Video For "Carl Sagan"

Minneapolis indie pop/psych band Night Moves have premiered the video for their excellent single "Carl Sagan".  

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their latest album ‘Pennied Days', which came out back in March. Buy your copy here.

The video was directed by Brook Linder. Take a look below.


Tags: Night Moves

Formation Announce Debut LP 'Look at the Powerful People', Air "Powerful People"

South London indie rock/pop/funk band Formation have announced the release of their debut studio album titled 'Look at the Powerful People'.

The album will be out March 24. Brothers Will and Matt, have also aired the video for their new single "Powerful People", directed by Mike Skinner from The Streets, who told: "Working with Formation was like working with two old souls of culture but in the bodies of people who are all young and sexy. You can tell they are up to something that's going to draw people towards their party."

Watch the album's tracklist and the clip for "Powerful People" below.

01. Drugs
03. Powerful People
05. On The Board
06. Gods
07. Buy and Sell
08. A Friend
09. Blood Red Hand
10. Ring


New Entry: Frigs Release New Single "Chest"

Toronto alt/garage psych four-piece Frigs, formerly known as Dirty Frigs, have released their new single "Chest".

The 7" single "Chest / Trashyard" is out today.

Stream it below.


Watch: 'Trainspotting 2' First Full Trailer, Soundtracked by Underworld and Wolf Alice

The first official trailer for 'T2 Trainspotting', the long-awaited sequel to the Scottish cult classic from 1996, has been released.

Twenty years have gone by, much has changed but just as much remains the same. Mark Renton (Ewan McGregor) returns to the only place he can ever call home, they are waiting for him: Spud (Ewen Bremner), Sick Boy (Jonny Lee Miller), and Begbie (Robert Carlyle).

Other old friends are waiting too: sorrow, loss, joy, vengeance, hatred, friendship, love, longing, fear, regret, diamorphine, self-destruction and mortal danger, they are all lined up to welcome him, ready to join the dance.

Director Danny Boyle reunites the original cast: Ewan McGregor, Ewen Bremner, Jonny Lee Miller and Robert Carlyle. The U.K. release date is January 27, 2017 and the U.S. one is February 3, 2017.

The first part of the trailer features Underworld's "Born Slippy," an iconic track from the first movie's soundtrack that also played behind the original "Choose Life" speech. The second part features Wolf Alice's "Silk," a song from their 2015 debut album, My Love Is Cool.

Watch it below.


New Entry: The Megaphonic Thrift Unleash New Single "Pilene"

Norwegian psychedelic, experimental band The Megaphonic Thrift have unleashed their dreamy new single "Pilene".

The song is taken from the band's their upcoming fourth studio album 'Få meg til verden i tide', which will be out on November 14 through Old Flame Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Have a listen below.