Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Album of the Week May 20/13: Visage - 'Hearts And Knives'

Our New album of the week is 'Hearts And Knives' by new romantic pioneers Visage. It is the band's first album in 29 years.

Frontman Steve Strange reformed Visage — which split in 1985 after three albums — several years ago, recruiting the band’s latter-period bassist Steve Barnacle,  former Ultravox and Magazine guitarist Robin Simon and new singer Lauren Duvall.

About the decision to revive Visage, Strange said:

“It was a question really of all the parts falling into place. Firstly, I am at a point in my life where I have been clean for 10 years and I am happy with my life and, secondly, the positive people I now surro9und myself with —not least the members of Visage — helped to create an atmosphere where the album started to happen. It took us three years and it was no easy ride, but it’s here now and we are all really pleased with it.”

Hearts and Knives is a solid album with a pure synth sound, keeping the band's classic sounds. Welcome back Mr. Strange!

'Hearts & Knives' tracklist:

01. Never Enough
02. Shameless Fashion
03. She's Electric (Coming Around)
04. Hidden Sign
05. On We Go
06. Dreamer I Know
07. Lost In Static
08. I Am Watching
09. Diaries of a Madman
10. Breathe Life

Get your copy now: http://www.visage.cc/shop.php

Cold Cave Streams New Track "Black Boots"

Cold Cave has shared the audio for his new single "Black Boots", taken from the 7" Black Boots / Meaningful Life (Heartworm 55), available to order now via theheartworm.com. The song has been added to our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com.

The electronic neo-wave 7" was recorded and performed by Wesley Eisold in Los Angeles. A new video for Black Boots is expected soon, as Eislod revealed on March 25: "I’m proud to say I recently filmed a video for ‘Black Boots‘ with director Slava Tsukerman (Liquid Sky) which is being completed now. I want to thank Alexandre Plokhov of whom I am also a fan for providing my clothes for the video."

Here's a short Cold Cave description for each track:
  • Black Boots - Cool nihilism. Existential, groovy, psychedelia.
  • Meaningful Life - A sombre ballad. Organ, flute, vintage drum machine, and intimate declarations.
Stream "Black Boots" below.

Crocodiles Announce New Album 'Crimes Of Passion', Unveil New Track

San Diego indie rockers Crocodiles have announced that they will release their fourth studio album titled 'Crimes Of Passion' on August 19.

The album will be out in the US through Frenchkiss Records and in UK/EU/ROW via Zoo Music. 

For the follow-up to their 2012's album 'Endless Flowers', Crocodiles have recruited the Raveonettes member  Sune Rose Wagner, to serve as producer.

Wagner previously worked with the wife of Crocodiles frontman Brandon Welchez, Dee Dee of the Dum Dum Girls.

The band have also debuted a new song called "Cockroach", the first taste from their upcoming new effort. The song has been added to our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com.

Have a listen to "Cockroach" below.

Website: http://killkillkillcrocodiles.blogspot.com

Watch: Napoleon Unveil Music Video For "Moonlight"

Brooklyn-based band Napoleon have unveiled the video for their latest single "Moonlight", which was released on April 26. The song is part of our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com.

"Moonlight" was Recorded in February 2013 at Strange Weather in Brooklyn, NY and produced by Daniel Schlett.

Check out the video below.

Website: http://www.musicnapoleon.com

Placebo Announce New Album 'Loud Like Love'

Placebo have announced that they will released their forthcoming seventh studio album, titled 'Loud Like Love' on September 16th.

The follow-up to their 2009's Battle Of The Sun, will feature 10 brand new tracks recorded in London at RAK Studios during 2012 and early 2013, and has been produced by Adam Noble.

The album can be pre-ordered from midday on the 31st May and will be available to fans in the following formats:

- 3D Lenticular Super Deluxe Box Set 
- Limited Edition Deluxe Digi-Pack Version 
- Double 12" Coloured Vinyl Gatefold Edition
- Standard CD Album 

The band have also announced a series of UK dates for autumn, including dates in Birmingham, Manchester, Glasgow and London. Check out the full dates on their website.

Nitzer Ebb To Re-issue 'Basic Pain Procedure'

Nitzer Ebb's first recording 'Basic Pain Procedure' is celebrating its 30th anniversary and Pylon Records will be reissued it on CD worldwide in June 11.

The original version of the recording was a cassette-only release and was designed mostly for label interest, and fans were able to purchase it directly at the band shows.  Nitzer Ebb went on to record a whole new batch of songs for their debut album 'That Total Age', and with the exception of "The Home," which was reworked/retitled for Belief, the songs from Basic Pain Procedure were never reused or re-recorded. 

Last year the record received the vinyl treatment and now will have its CD format, which contains all tracks of the BPP such as Faded Smiles, Tradition and Crane as well as the entire live Concert from CIHE, Chelmsford, December 9, 1983.

Nitzer Ebb have uploaded a few tracks from the live album onto soundcloud,  stream them below.