Friday, September 03, 2021

Watch: Favours Premiere New Single/Video "Call Me"

Canadian new wave/synthwave band Favours have premiered the video for their new single "Call Me".

The song is taken from their forthcoming EP 'Left Behind', inspired by 80’s new wave, which will be available on November 12. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Favours

New Entry: Motorcade Drop New Single "Slip"

Dallas, TX indie rock/pop/new wave band Motorcade have premiered their new single "Slip".

The song is taken from their highly-anticipated new album 'See You in the Nothing' out later this fall via Idol Records. Get it here

Take a listen below.

Pink Turns Blue Unleash New Single/Video "Not Even Trying"

Berlin post-punk/alt rock band Pink Turns Blue have dropped the video for their latest single "Not Even Trying".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their upcoming new album 'Tainted', set to be released on September 24 via Orden Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Most of us are using excuses or alibi “actions” to cover up our indifference or complacency. We pursue our own advantage at the expense of others even if the calculation does not add up in the end.

Watch it below.

New Entry: Castlebeat Shares New Single "Into"

Los Angeles dream pop/lo-fi musician Castlebeat has shared his new single "Into".

The song is out today (September 3) via Spirit Goth. Grab it here.

Stream it below.


Tags: Castlebeat

Watch: Jesse D'Kora Airs Music Video For "Morning Light"

UK-based dream pop/lo-fi/indie artist Jesse D'Kora (aka Dan Parker from Juliper Sky and Affairs) has aired the video for his latest single "Morning Light".

The song is part of our current playlist and came out last month (August 27), get it here.

Watch the clip below.

New Entry: THALA Drops New Single "Contradictions"

Berlin  dream pop/shoegaze artist THALA have dropped her new single "Contradictions".

The song is taken from her upcoming debut album 'Adolescence', set to arrive on September 17th through Born Losers Records / Duchessbox Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Have a listen below.

Watch: Capitol Reveal New Single/Video "Smashing"

Canadian new wave/post punk/dream pop band Capitol have revealed the video for their new single "Smashing".

The song is taken from their forthcoming new EP 'All The Rest Of My Heads', which will arrive on September 17th via Meritorio Records. Get it here.

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Capitol

New Entry: 122 North Releases New Single "Goodbye"

Canadian electronic/synthpop project 122 North (aka Danny Provencher) has released his new single "Goodbye".

The song is taken from his upcoming debut EP 'Night Drive', a record that takes us back to the late 80s and early 90s, in the Madchester period, and which will be available in September 17 through Too Good To Be True Records. Pre-order your copy here.

While debut single "Drive" reminds us of "Technique"-era New Order and The Beloved, "Goodbye" brings us back to the most danceable electronic hits of The Field Mice.

Watch/listen below.

Tags: 122 North

New Entry: Lightfoils Unleash New Single "Supervene"

Chicago-based shoegaze/dream-pop band Lightfoils have unleashed their new single "Supervene".

The song b/w the Solemn Youth remix of their song "This Time Is Up" is out today (September 3). Get it here.

Take a listen below.


Tags: Lightfoils

IST IST Announce New LP 'The Art of Lying', Stream "It Stops Where It Starts"

Manchester post punk/new wave/alt band IST IST have announced the release of their second full-length album 'The Art of Lying'.

The follow-up to their 2020's debut album Architecture, will be released on November 26 via Kind Violence Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for their new single "It Stops Where It Starts", below.

The Art of Lying Tracklist:
01. Listening Through the Walls
02. Fat Cats Drown in Milk
03. Middle Distance
04. Watching You Watching Me
05. The Waves
06. Extreme Greed
07. It Stops Where It Starts
08. If It Tastes Like Wine
09. Heads on Spikes
10. Don’t Go Gentle 



Watch: Permafrost Unveil New Single/Video "Restore Us"

Norwegian-UK post-punk band Permafrost have unveiled the video for their new single "Restore Us".

The song is out today, September 3 via the Fear of Music. Get it here.

We’ve become numb to endless conflicts and mountebanks posing as leaders. A figurative plague has divided us for most of the modern era. It took a literal one to bring us together, albeit in the darkest of ways. 

One would be forgiven for feeling a little nostalgic for better times about now, and we’re long overdue for a hard reset. With 'Restore Us', Permafrost has just released what could be the theme song for the post-lockdown era. 

Permafrost was formed in 1982 in Molde, Norway by Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu during the first post punk era, taking their name from a Magazine track. As industry veterans, their long arc provides some crucial perspective as we enter uncharted waters. In fact, ideas for the song have been germinating for three years, with it ultimately coming into focus over the past year. 

Both foreboding and optimistic, 'Restore Us' is less the battle hymn that is usually the stock in trade of the post punks, and more of a face-the-facts statement that it's time. 

The accompanying video’s footage was shot in 1987 by keyboardist Daryl Bamonte, during Depeche Mode’s Music For The Masses tour, while he was working with the band. It shows the energy and enthusiasm of a group on the ascent, in a country concurrently starting its slow decline into the new consumerism era, reaching its logical conclusion when a failed salesman would become president three decades later. A man forged in that epoch, with a commitment to a laissez-faire modus operandi and putting profits over people, became the glaring symbol of our ultimate undoing.

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Permafrost

SPECTRES Announce New LP 'Hindsight', Stream "Tell Me"

Vancouver, BC post punk/cold wave/goth band SPECTRES have announced the release of their new studio album 'Hindsight'.

The follow-up to last year's Nostalgia, will be out on November 5 via Toronto-based Artoffact Records, featuring their new single "Tell Me". Pre-order your copy here.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to  "Tell Me". below.

Hindsight Tracklist:
01. Cold War
02. Message from Above
03. Visions of a New World
04. Complications
05. Pattern Recognition
06. Provincial Wake
07. Northern Towns
08. Remote Viewing (Live at Part-Time Punks)
09. Vertigo (Live at Part-Time Punks)
10. Crosses and Wreathes (Live at Part-Time Punks)
11.To the Victor
12.Tell Me

Watch: Shader Share New Single/Video "Blackholes (The World Eats A Weak Man)"

North Staffordshire indie rock band Shader have shared the video for their new single "Blackholes (The World Eats A Weak Man)".

The song is out today (September 3) and was produced by Gavin Monaghan (Blinders / Editors) with additional production & mixing duties by long time Manic Street Preachers collaborator Dave Eringa. Get it here.

Speaking about it, frontman and songwriter Stu Whiston says: “Blackholes is a modern rock & roll explosive hymn for the lost & lonely, climbing out of the depths of solitude and fighting back against the world.”

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Shader

Watch: ULTRA SUNN Air New Single/Video "Young Foxes"

Brussels coldwave/EBM duo band ULTRA SUNN have released the video for their new single "Young Foxes".

The song is out today (September 3)  and is taken from their upcoming EP 'Body Electric', set to arrive on September 24 via Cold Transmission. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch/listen below.