Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Watch: Doomsquad Unveil Music Video For New Single "Dorian's Closet"

Toronto based art-dance sibling trio Doomsquad, have unveiled the video for their new single "Dorian's Closet".

The song is taken from their upcoming new album 'Let Yourself Be Seen', due for release on May 10th through Bella Union. Pre-order your copy here.

From the band:  “Dorian Corey was at the heart of the NYC ballroom / vogue scene in the early 80s. She was a role-model and matriarchal figure for a lot of queer POC youth. When she passed away, due to AIDS, they discovered a mummified body in her closet dating back to 15 years ago. The body was of an ex-con who was believed to be a controlling and abusive ex-lover, and she carried the body around with her from apartment to apartment over all those years.”

“We wanted to tell a much softer and gentler story about a drag queen. One where drag culture has become fully normalised and accepted by society. Where people can feel safe and empowered leaving the house in the middle of the afternoon in drag and carrying out normal day-to-day tasks. Removing the idea around drag culture being exclusively for the night, and carried out in ballrooms, and clubs.”

The video was directed and produced by Paz Ramirez, starring Anna Balmanica. Watch below.


Tags: Doomsquad

Watch: Young Garbo Unleash Music Video For "Faustus"

Cardiff punk funk four-piece Young Garbo have unleashed the video for their debut single "Faustus". 

The song is part of our current playlist and is out now. Buy it here.

In the summer 2018 this single caught the eye of legendary music mogul Alan McGee and has been the third release on his new record label Creation 23. Young Garbo are: Garyn Williams, Arwel Brown, Levi Ball and Milo 'Rowdy' Rodell-John.

Watch the video below. 


Watch: Marble Arch Release Music Video For "Gold"

French dream pop/shoegaze/indie pop band Marble Arch have released the video for their latest single "Gold". 

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their upcoming new album 'Children of the Slump', out on March 22 via  Géographie. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch the clip below.


Sacred Paws Announce New LP 'Run Around The Sun', Air "The Conversation" Video

Glasgow//London indie pop/punk duo Sacred Paws (Rachel Aggs and Eilidh Rodgers) have announced the release of their sophomore album titled 'Run Around The Sun'.

The follow-up to 2017's Strike A Match, will be out May 31st on Rock Action Records and Merge Records, and brims with upbeat reflections on growing up and looking back. Shimmering guitar riffs dance between snappy beats and swooning melodies that will have crowds committing to far more than a simple head-bob. “I think we’d get bored if it was too slow,” Eilidh says. “We’d never want to play something live that people couldn’t dance to. It would feel really strange to us. It’s kind of the whole point.”

The duo have also aired the album's opening track "The Conversation", beginning with a scream of guitar, it includes all the hallmarks of a classic Sacred Paws song—where intricate guitar work and complex drumming collide with pop smarts and the dual vocals of Rachel Aggs and Eilidh Rodgers. The track was written about a long-forgotten argument between friends, composed in the band’s traditional unplanned approach, each member’s thoughts and feelings slaloming through the other’s. “You’re all wrong, you’re walking away / Why would we even try to have this conversation?” the song asks before resolving to move on: “I’m running, I’m hiding out, resisting / I’m keeping this to myself….” The argument that inspired it is long forgotten but the feelings remain.

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklist, and the video for "The Conversation" below.

Run Around The Sun Tracklist:
01. The Conversation
02. Almost It
03. Life's Too Short
04. Shame On Me
05. What's So Wrong
06. How Far
07. Is This Real
08. Write This Down
09. Brush Your Hair
10. Other Side


Tags: Sacred Paws

New Entry: Broken Social Scene Premiere New Single "Can't Find My Heart"

Canadian indie rock/pop band Broken Social Scene have premiered their new single "Can't Find My Heart".

The song is taken from their forthcoming EP 'Let's Try the After, Vol. 2', set to be released on April 12th via Arts and Crafts. Pre-order your copy here.

Take a listen below.


Tags: Broken Social Scene