Thursday, August 16, 2018

Maximo Park's Paul Smith Announces New Solo Album 'Diagrams'

Maximo Park frontman Paul Smith has announced the release of his new solo album titled 'Diagrams'.

The singer fourth record as a solo artist will be out on October 26th via Billingham Records. Alongside co-producer Andrew Hodson, of 6 Music favourites, Warm Digits, he charts a course into the yearning, melancholic jangle-pop of The Go-Betweens, finding himself drawn to the literate, grunge-pop of The Lemonheads, to build a cohesive collection that pulls in his many strengths. Pre-order your copy here.

About his new song 'Silver Rabbit', Paul Smith explains: “It's a punchy song where the self-doubt and regret in the lyrics is mirrored by the musical tension that develops as it goes along. I grew up in the grunge era, so this has echoes of that sound but with my own romantic view of everyday life.”

Check out the record's tracklist and listen to "Silver Rabbit" below.

01. The Public Eye
02. Around and Around
03. Silver Rabbit
04. Lake Burley Griffin
05. Syrian Plains
06. John
07. The Beauty Contest
08. Hollywood Hills
09. Head for Figures
10. Critical Mass
11. Your Orbit


New Entry: Guerilla Toss Unveil New Single "Green Apple"

New York psych/punk/funk band Guerilla Toss have unveiled their new single "Green Apple".

The song is taken from their forthcoming new album 'Twisted Crystal', which will be out on September 14. Pre-order your copy here.

Take a listen below.


Tags: Guerilla Toss

New Entry: The Underground Youth Premiere New Single "Fill the Void"

Berlin post punk/psych band The Underground Youth have premiered their addictive new single "Fill the Void".

The 7" single Fill the Void / Take Me Awry will be out via Fuzz Club on September 8th. Pre-order your copy here.

The Underground Youth have always been steeped in a romantic nostalgia, their poignant psychedelic post-punk sounding like what might happen if Rowland S. Howard, Leonard Cohen, Bauhaus and The Velvet Underground jammed in a room together, but on this new 45 the band have turned this nostalgia in on themselves. 

'Fill The Void' and 'Take Me Awry' offer a reflective journey through the band's impassioned psychedelic post-punk, with it's 80s-style percussion, funeral vocals croons and dark jangly instrumentation that occasionally breaks down into a whirlwind of fuzzed-out guitars. 

Watch a lyric video for the song below.


New Entry: Sextile Unleash New Single "Spun"

Los Angeles post punk duo Sextile have unleashed their new single "Spun".

The song is taken from their upcoming new EP '3', set to be released on September 14 through Felte Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Stream it below. 


Tags: Sextile