Wednesday, June 16, 2021

Watch: The Sea At Midnight Airs "Anything About You" Music Video

LA-based post punk/coldwave/synthwave artist Vince Grant aka The Sea At Midnight has aired the video for his catchy single "Anything About You".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from his excellent self-produced debut album 'The Sea At Midnight', which came out in November last year. Get it here if you haven't already.

Take a look at the video below.


Tags: The Sea at Midnight

Holy Holy Announce New LP 'Hello My Beautiful World', Stream "Believe Anything"

Aussie indie rock/alt duo Holy Holy (Oscar Dawson and Timothy Carroll) have announced the release of their fourth studio album 'Hello My Beautiful World'. 

The follow-up to 2019's My Own Pool of Light, is their most daring and truthful album to date, it features the hit songs ‘Port Rd’, ‘How You Been’ and new single ‘Believe Anything, and will land on Friday 20 August via Wonderlick Recording Company. Pre-order your copy here.

From the band:  We made the album in a series of basic studios in Victoria and Tasmania, believing that studios don't make much difference to how our songs sound. We wrote, recorded, mixed and produced it ourselves against the background of the global pandemic.

We collaborated with Queen P and CLEWS. With Japanese Wallpaper and Kim from The Presets.

We worked a lot with Toby Alexander, who created detailed and beautiful string arrangements of our demos, which we combined with a palette of synths, beats and vocals motifs in a way we found compelling and satisfying.

We were given all the freedom in the world to do whatever we wanted, and this is what we did.
It's an interesting body of work. Full to breaking point with ideas. A record that will suit repeated listening.

The songs dwell in the details of living. Dreams are a theme. Dreams you have when you're sleeping. Not the dreams you come up with when you're awake. Not a series of desires. Dreams where you have no control, and you scare yourself.  

It's rhythmic and cinematic. Grand at times and at times starkly intimate. A collection of moods we stumbled into as the world we thought we knew was changed.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to their new single "Believe Anything", below.

Hello My Beautiful World Tracklist:
01. Believe Anything
03. The Aftergone
04. Port Rd
05. Hello My Beautiful World
06. Ghosts
07. I.C.U.
08. Stand Where I'm Standing
09. Shoreditch
10. So Tired
11. Here and Now 


Tags: Holy Holy

New Entry: Massage Premiere New Single "At the End of the World"

Los Angeles indie pop/jangle pop band Massage (ex-The Pains of Being Pure At Heart) have premiered their new single "At the End of the World".

The song is taken from their upcoming sophomore album 'Still Life', which will be available on June 25. Pre-order your copy here.

"At the end of the world/Where were you?" he wonders on "At the End or the World," a simple, affecting plea for pure companionship and love as structures large and small crumble outside.

Take a listen below.

Tags: Massage

Watch: Gang of Youths Unleash New Single/Video "The Angel of 8th Ave"

Aussie indie rock band Gang of Youths have unleashed the video for their new single "The Angel of 8th Ave".

Band member Dave Le’aupepe says:  "the angel of 8th about “falling in love, and finding a new life in a new city together.”

Get it here and watch/listen below.

New Entry: Art d'Ecco Reveals "Angst In My Pants" (SPARKS cover)

British Columbia glam-rocker Art d'Ecco has revealed his cover version of SPARKS 1982 song "Angst In My Pants".

“I’ve been sitting on this cover song for quite some time,” d’Ecco shares. “Sparks are an important band for me—one that I arrived to late in the game and felt an immediate connection with. I’m always drawn to bands and artists who constantly seek to reinvent themselves—you can appreciate their records as a stand alone affair, or string them together and enjoy the sonic odyssey.”

Art d'Ecco's new album 'In Standard Definition', came out on April 23 through Paper Bag Records.

Stream it below.


Tags: Art d' Ecco


Watch: Spector Drop "Catch You On The Way Back In" Music Video

London-based indie rock band Spector have dropped the video for their latest single "Catch You On The Way Back In".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their forthcoming new album 'Now Or Whenever', set to be released on October 1st via their own Moth Noise imprint. Pre-order it here.

Speaking about it, Fred Macpherson said: “Catch You on the Way Back In’ is a 160bpm bon voyage: An “until next time” for when you don’t know how long the next time might be. It's music for closing and music for opening, and strangely both the first track we started for the album and the last before we didn’t see each other in the flesh for six months. It’s more of a drinking song than a thinking song, so it will probably make most sense when we’re all allowed in the same room again.”

Watch the clip below.


Tags: Spector

Watch: School of X Unveils Music Video For "Feel of It"

Copenhagen-based alt pop artist Rasmus Littauer aka School of X has unveiled the video for his newest single "Feel of It".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from his upcoming new album 'Dancing Through the Void', which will be available on September 24 through Sonic Blew/[PIAS]. Pre-order your copy here.

About the song, Littauer says “It’s about the desire to break out of daily routines and boredom, craving for headspace, excitement and bigger emotions. It’s a desire that seduces me and haunts me and sometimes comes with a cost. Sometimes you end up all alone because you’ve been blinded by the light.”

Watch/listen below.