Tuesday, April 27, 2021

Killing Joke's Big Paul Ferguson Announces New LP 'Virtual Control', Airs "Extrapolate"

Founding member and co-creative mind behind proto-industrial post-punk icons Killing Joke, Big Paul Ferguson has announced the release of his new solo album 'Virtual Control'.

Featuring ten original tracks written with guitarist Mark Gemini Thwaite and highlighted with special guest appearances from former Marilyn Manson member Tim Skold as well as Die Krupps mastermind Jürgen Engler, Virtual Control conjures a dense and foreboding aural atmosphere, layering guitars, synths and Ferguson’s own distinctive vocals, that underscores the thoughtfulness of Ferguson’s introspective and observant lyrics. It will be out on June 25. Pre-order your copy here.

In anticipation of the album’s full release on June 25, we are excited to share Virtual Control’s first single “Extrapolate,” one of the album’s most propulsive tracks that rides an unrelenting guitar/bass hook supported by taut percussion and a hypnotic lead vocal, expertly mixed by award-winning producer Tom Dalgety (Pixies, Rammstein).

Ferguson shares these thoughts on what inspired the song, “My reflections on the dichotomies, social and personal, of these times. How our lives are being affected by isolation coupled with the bombardment of conflicting information. Our trust in what is real and true being challenged on a daily basis.”

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for "Extrapolate", below.

Virtual Control  Tracklist:
01. Lapdogs
02. Shiny Toys
03. The Unraveling
04. Extrapolate
05. Sea Of Judgement
06. Seeping Through The Cracks feat. Tim Skold
07. Data Lama
08. Glass Houses
09. Plausible Deniability
10. Dystopian Vibe feat. Jürgen Engler

Piroshka Announce New LP 'Love Drips And Gathers', Stream “Scratching At The Lid"

London supergroup Piroshka (made up of members from Lush, Elastica, Moose and Modern English) have announced the release of their second studio album 'Love Drips And Gathers'.

The record – named after a line in a Dylan Thomas poem – is the follow-up to their 2019's debut Brickbat, and was inspired by love, family, belonging, memory. It will be out on July 23 via Bella Union. Pre-order your copy here.

The four band members are former Lush vocalist/guitarist (and former redhead) Miki Berenyi, former Moose guitarist KJ "Moose" McKillop, Modern English bassist Mick Conroy and former Elastica drummer Justin Welch. 

Love Drips And Gathers follows a more introspective line – the ties that bind us, as lovers, parents, children, friends – to a suitably subtler, more ethereal sound, whilst still revelling in energy and drama.

“If Brickbat was our Britpop album, then Love Drips And Gathers is shoegaze!” reckons vocalist/guitarist Miki Berenyi, formerly of Lush, a band that effortlessly bridged the two genres like no other. “It wasn’t intentional; we just wanted a different focus. I’ve always seen debut albums as capturing a band’s first moments, when you really have momentum, and then the second album is the chance for a more thoughtful approach.”

Bassist Mick Conroy (Modern English) agrees. “Brickbat was a classic first album; noisy and raucous. On Love Drips And Gathers, we’ve calmed down and explored sounds, and space.”

The way Love Drips And Gathers changes shape and dynamic is less a reprise of nineties Brit indie than a transformation into a more shivery, Euro-mantic version with glistening electronic filigrees.

The  band have also shared their new single “Scratching At The Lid”, take a listen below the album's tracklist.

Love Drips And Gathers Tracklist:
01. Hastings
02. The Knife Thrower's Daughter
03. Scratching At The Lid
04. Loveable
05. VO
06. Wanderlust
07. Echo Loco
08. Familiar
09. We Told You


Tags: Piroshka