Sunday, May 06, 2018

Soft Science Announce New LP 'Maps'

California dream-gaze band Soft Science have announced the release of their new album titled 'Maps'.

The quintet’s third full-length will be out June 1 via Test Pattern Records, and is their most polished to date as it captures more of the band’s raw live energy while still engaging the listener with the dreamy atmospheric reverberations that have become a hallmark of the band’s sound.

The album features whirling guitars, airy vocals, and captivating melodies that will ring in your head long after your first listen.

“The lyrics on ‘Maps’ are reflective of the process of time passing, relationships breaking apart, and coming together. Overall, there is an element of the idea of appreciating the time we have with the ones we love. The lyrics on ‘Maps’ are, at times, a stream of consciousness of everyday life and, at times, are more abstract but always with an undercurrent of processing life,” says Katie Haley.

The record follows up their double A-side singles ‘Sooner/ Paris’ and ‘Undone / I Don’t Know Why I Love You’, which saw the band flirt with sounds closer to My Bloody Valentine and The Primitives. The band’s members are influenced by such bands ranging from the Zombies and Beach Boys to Lush, Teenage Fanclub, Ride, Pale Saints, New Order, and Jesus and Mary Chain, along with newer artists such as Beach House and Frankie Rose.

Pre-order the album here, and check out the tracklist below.

01. Undone
02. Breaking
03. Diverging
04. There
05. Apart
06. Sooner
07. Know
08. Still
09. Enough
10. Slip


Tags: Soft Science