Tuesday, January 16, 2018

MGMT Detail New Album 'Little Dark Age'

American psychedelic/electronic duo MGMT have confirmed details of  their new album 'Little Dark Age'.

The follow-up to their 2013 self-titled album will be released on February 9 via Columbia, and features the previously released songs “Hand It Over,” “When You Die,” and “Little Dark Age.”.

The record was produced by Patrick Wimberly (formerly of Chairlift) and Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, Spoon, Tame Impala). Pre-order your copy here.

Check out the tracklist below.

01. She Works Out Too Much
02. Little Dark Age
03. When You Die
04. Me and Michael
06. James
07. Days That Got Away
08. One Thing Left to Try
09. When You’re Small
10. Hand It Over


Tags: MGMT

Watch: Gift Wrap Reveal Music Video For New Single "Losing Count"

Brooklyn punk trio B Boys bassist/vocalist Brendon Avalos experimental solo project Gift Wrap has revealed the video for his new single "Losing Count".

The song is the title track from of his upcoming debut album 'Losing Count', set to arrive on March 2nd. Pre-order your copy here.

As an artist, Avalos embraces spontaneity and immediacy in his work. “One thing that B Boys taught me musically is that ideas that feel spur-of-the-moment or come quick, end up being some of the best songs.” Leaning further into this approach for Gift Wrap, he purchased his first drum machine - a DR202 - and set up a small studio in his apartment, giving himself 24/7 access to testing out ideas right as they came to him. The rewards? The hook-filled title track, a standout on the album, which he recalls “was the first song I wrote in a day with no intentions of recording it, and it may be the most structured and realized song on the album.”

Losing Count is the culmination of a personal goal Avalos set two years ago: to see through the completion of a collection of music all his own. “Artistically, I think the sole purpose of this record was to just do everything. An exercise in realizing a full concept without seeing what the end result would be.” As it turns out, that end result is a 13-track experimental pop album that packs a large punch with influences ranging from early new wave acts like Depeche Mode and OMD to Frank Ocean.

Watch the video below.

New Entry: Preoccupations Drop New Single "Espionage"

Canadian post-punk band Preoccupations (formerly known as Viet Cong) have dropped their new single "Espionage".

The song is taken from their upcoming new album 'New Material', the follow up to their 2016 self-titled debut, which will be out on March 23 through Jagjaguwar. Pre-order your copy here

Have a listen below.

Watch: Two Moons Share Music Video For "Destruction"

Italian cold wave/darkwave/synth punk band Two Moons have shared the video for their latest single "Destruction".

The song is part of your current playlist and is taken from their latest album 'Cognitive Dissonance, released last year. Buy it here.

Watch the clip below.


Tags: Two Moons

New Entry: Buerak Release New Single "Друг"

Russian post punk/new wave/cold wave duo Buerak (Буерак) have released their new single "Друг".

The song is part of our current playlist and is out now b/w "Я люблю людей лишь в фильмах". Buy it here.

Have a listen below.


Tags: Buerak

Watch: Hippo Campus Unveil Music Video For "Buttercup"

Minnesota indie pop/lo-fi band Hippo Campus have unveiled the  video for their latest single "Buttercup".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their debut album 'Landmark', which came out in February 2017. Get your copy here.

The video was animated by Noah Farrar. Take a look below.


Tags: Hippo Campus

Editors Announce New LP 'Violence', Air Music Video For "Magazine"

British indie rockers Editors have announced the release of their sixth studio album titled 'Violence'.

The follow-up to 2015's In Dream, was produced by Leo Abrahams (Wild Beasts, Florence & The Machine) and Editors with additional production by Benjamin John Power (Blanck Mass, Fuck Buttons). It will be out on 9th March.

About their brand new single Magazine, frontman Tom Smith said: “Magazine is a pointed finger aimed at those in power… some corrupt politician or businessman… a character, and a tongue in cheek poke at the empty posturing and playing to the masses of the power hungry.”

Pre-order your copy here, check out the tracklist and watch the video for "Magazine", below.

01. Cold
02. Hallelujah (So Low)
03. Violence
04. Darkness At The Door
05. Nothingness
06. Magazine
07. No Sound But the Wind
08. Counting Spooks
09. Belong


Tags: Editors