Thursday, March 21, 2013

'The Stone Roses: Made Of Stone' Documentary To Be Released In June

The Stone Roses documentary 'Made Of Stone' will open in British cinemas on Wednesday 5 June following a premiere in the group's hometown on Thursday 30 May. 

The film was made by This Is England director Shane Meadows and goes behind the scenes on the Manchester band's 2012 reunion, from the early stages to their celebratory hometown gigs at Heaton Park. 

The event will be satellite-linked to 100 cinemas as part of nationwide preview screenings running concurrently with the premiere launch, with tickets for both the host venue and the satellite-linked cinemas made available to the public.

A premiere for the film, with all members of the band in attendance, will take place in Manchester on May 30 with a number of fans who attended last year's Warrington Parr Hall and Heaton Park gigs who are featured in the film receiving tickets to the premiere in Manchester. Images of the chosen fans will be posted on the film's official Facebook and Twitter pages in the coming weeks.

"Making this film, I got to be part of something truly remarkable, the double decade awaited ‘resurrection’ of my all time favourite band, The Stone Roses," said Meadows.

"People say that you can’t recapture your youth, it’ll never be the same second time round etc, but that’s utter rubbish. The Roses were never allowed to reach their peak first time around so, as far as I and millions of fans around the world were concerned, with this comeback the Roses could be even greater." He added.

Watch: Generationals Unveil New Video For "Put a Light On"

New Orleans pop-rock duo Generationals have unveiled the video for their new single "Put a Light On", taken from their forthcoming album 'Heza', out April 2 via Polyvinyl. The song is part of our current playlist

The video was directed by Vice Cooler. Watch it below.

Splashh Share New Track "Sun Kissed Bliss", Announce Debut Album

London band SPLASHH have announced their will release their debut album 'Comfort' through US label Kanine Records on 4th June.

The band's first full-length includes previously unveiled tracks 'All I Wanna Do', 'Headspins', 'Lemonade' and 'Vacation'. They are now sharing a new track 'Sun Kissed Bliss', which features as a bonus track on the North American release of 'Comfort'. 

The song has been added to our current playlist Listen below.

The album was part recorded in London and Australia and you can do your pre-order HERE.

The Postal Service Stream New Song "Turn Around"

The Postal Service have shared the audio for "Turn Around" the second (and final) new track to share off their 10th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue of 'Give U', out April 8 via Sub Pop.

The track has been added to our current playlist Have a listen below:

The deluxe package will be available as a double disc CD or Triple LP (with multiple pressings in unique colors) featuring B-sides, In-studio performances and more which you can pre-order here.

Disc 1
01. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight

02. Such Great Heights

03. Sleeping In

04. Nothing Better

05. Recycled Air

06. Clark Gable

07. We Will Become Silhouettes

08.This Place Is a Prison

09. Brand New Colony

10. Natural Anthem

Disc 2
01. Turn Around

02. A Tattered Line of String

03. Be Still My Heart

04. There’s Never Enough Time

05. Suddenly Everything Has Changed

06. Against All Odds (Take a Look At Me Now)

07. Grow Old With Me

08. Such Great Heights (John Tejada Remix)

09. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight (DJ Downfall Persistent Beat Mix)

10. Be Still My Heart (Nobody Remix)

11. We Will Become Silhouettes (Matthew Dear Remix)
12. Nothing Better (Styrofoam Remix)

12. Recycled Air (Live on KEXP)

13. We Will Become Silhouettes (Performed by The Shins)

14. Such Great Heights (Performed by Iron and Wine)

Arcade Fire Working On New Album With LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy

Canadian indie rock band Arcade Fire are currently quite busy in the making of their yet untitled fourth studio album. The follow-up to their 2010's 'The Suburbs' might be released in late 2013, but details are still to follow.

For this new album, the band is working with longtime friend DFA-label chief and former head of LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy. DFA Records' New York City studio Twitter account tweeted yesterday: 

“Arcade Fire STILL with us at DFA… This is going to be one great sounding album!” 

We keep you updated, in the meantime here is a clip of Murphy performing LCD Soundsystem's “North American Scum” from LCD Soundsystem's final shows at Madison Square Garden with Arcade Fire below.

Swim Deep Announced Debut Album 'Where The Heaven Are We'

British indie-pop band Swim Deep have announced they will released their first full-length 'Where The Heaven Are We' on July 29 through Chess Club / RCA Victor .

The band recorded the album in different sessions in studios in Brussels (ICP studios) and London (Miloco Studios) and was produced by Charlie Hugall. It will feature their already classic tune "The Sea".

As a special teaser, the band have also shared a new song from the album called "She Changes The Weather", which you can listen below. The song has been added to our current playlist

Where the Heaven Are We tracklist:

1. Intro
2. Francisco
3. King City
4. Honey
5. Colour Your Ways
6. Make My Sun Shine
7. The Sea
8. Red Lips I Know
9. Soul Trippin
10. Stray
11. She Changes the Weather

Pre-order Swim Deep debut album HERE.
"She Changes The Weather" will get released on 6th May.


Tags: Swim Deep