Monday, June 24, 2013

Lowline Release New EP 'The Howler'

Manchester band Lowline have released a new EP titled 'The Howler', the follow-up to their 2011 self-titled debut album.

The EP features 5 brand new tracks recorded with Ash Hannis this year and includes a track featuring Nick McCabe (The Verve) on guitar.


01. The Howler
02. Sally Sledgehammer
03. My Head Explodes
04. Bury My Soul (feat. Nick McCabe)
05. Last One Standing

Get your copy NOW on iTunes.

Listen: The Vaccines Stream New Track "Melody Calling"

British indie rock band The Vaccines have unveiled a brand new track called "Melody Calling".

The song was recorded at Eldorado Studios in L.A. with producers John Hill (M.I.A, Santigold) and Rich Costey (Muse, Franz Ferdinand, Arctic Monkeys). Have a listen below.

Aves Reveal New Abum 'Sun Sky a Floating' Details

Finnish electro pop band Aves have revealed details of  their upcoming debut album 'Sun Sky a Floating', which will be out July 4th through Stereotype Helsinki.

According to the press release, 'Sun Sky a Floating' is a concept album that deals with the delicate relationship between body and mind, and presents an exceptionally mature and diverse group of artists. 

The group's vision ranges from the original sound of their music to a strong visual identity. Their music has been described as dream pop with psychedelic influences, but foremost Aves is a band that stands out thanks to their compelling songwriting. 

We've already listen to their excellent "Sunkissed", the first taste of the album along with its music video.

The tracklist for 'Sun Sky a Floating'is as follows:

Sun Sky
A Floating
You, Lucid
Sarah Sunk

Sun Child Suite, Pt. 1 (Illusia)
Sun Child Suite, Pt. 2 (Summer Child)
Sun Child Suite, Pt. 3 (Mercury)
Sun Child Suite, Pt. 4 (Reverie)
Sun Child Suite, Pt. 5 (Oracle)
Ghostly Shores


Watch: British Sea Power Unveil New Video For "Loving Animals"

Sussex six-piece British Sea Power have unveiled the video for "Loving Animals", taken from their latest album 'Machineries Of Joy' , recently released via Rough Trade.

The video was produced by Neil Hamilton and features plenty of animals. Watch it below.

Get your copy of 'Machineries Of Joy' now on iTunes.

Drop Out Venus Release 'Glitz' EP, Announce Break-up

South London's Drop Out Venus have announced via their Facebook page that their new 'GLITZ' EP, released today,  will be their very last due to "secret circumstances". 

Here's what singer Iva M  posted today on the band’s Facebook page:

Dear planets,

GLITZ will be the final release as Drop Out Venus. The reason for this is that due to secret circumstances we felt that it was better to start afresh.
Thank you to all the amazing people who have supported us and me personally. I can honestly say that I haven't gone for more than two days in the last six months without receiving a message or an e-mail or a letter from someone to express love and support. That has been most special and most humbling to me.
I will without a doubt still be making music with Chris as we have shared a soul since we were 16 years old, but we need a clean slate. We'll keep you posted.

See you on the other side
Always Survive

The 4-track EP is out now via their Bancamp page

Arctic Monkeys To Release New Album 'AM' In September

Sheffield four-piece Arctic Monkeys have announced that their upcoming fifth studio album will be titled 'AM' and released on September 9.

The band made the announcement today on their official Facebook page, revealing also the full tracklisting.

The album, recorded at Sage & Sound Recording, LA, and Rancho De La Luna, Joshua Tree, was produced by Simian Mobile Disco's James Ford, and features appearances from Queens Of The Stone Age frontman Josh Homme, as well as former The Coral member Bill Ryder-Jones and Elvis Costello's drummer Pete Thomas. Lyrics by the iconic punk poet John Cooper Clarke appear on the track 'I Wanna Be Yours'.

The Tracklisting is as follows:

01. Do I Wanna Know?
02. R U Mine?
03. One For The Road
04. Arabella 5. I Want It All
06. No. 1 Party Anthem
07. Mad Sounds
08. Fireside
09. Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?
10. Snap Out Of It
11. Knee Socks
12. I Wanna Be Yours

The album will be available on CD, Vinyl, Special Edition Vinyl & Digital download. You can pre-order the record from Arctic Monkeys Store.

Watch: Yeah Yeah Yeahs Reveal "Despair" Music Video

Yeah Yeah Yeahs have unveiled the video for their new single "Despair", taken from their latest album 'Mosquito' released back in April via Interscope.

It is the first-ever video filmed atop the Empire State Building, and was directed by Patrick Daughters. Watch it below.

About the video, Karen O said: "I felt like I could give as personal a performance because of our history together. It was important to us that it felt intimate despite being filmed at one of NYC’s most famous landmarks and an international cultural icon. It was my first-ever trip up to the top of the ESB, top of the world, we were up there from 3am to sunrise, I’m guessing very few get to see that view from up there at those hours."

"I gotta say I had a ‘the impossible is possible’ moment up there with Nick and Brian. If someone would have sat us down at the Mars Bar years back and told us that we’d be performing our music on the top of the Empire State Building one day, we probably would have thought that’s the stuff that dreams are made of, not us, no way."