Wednesday, February 06, 2013

Morrissey To Re-issue "The Last of the Famous International Playboys" And 1991 Album 'Kill Uncle'

Morrissey has announced the release of a limited edition 7-inch picture disc of his classic single "The Last of the Famous International Playboys" and a remastered version of his second album 'Kill Uncle' on April 8 via Parlophone Records.

Originally released in 1989, 'The Last of the Famous International Playboys' was Morrissey's third single and charted at #6 in the UK. The song tackles the media glamorisation of, and public hypocrisy regarding, crime - in particular, the sensationalism of how mass-murderers are always automatically awarded the media fame they crave.

It will be available on 7" picture disc single, CD single and digital download from April 8th. All three formats are backed with new songs: 'People are the Same everywhere (BBC live version)', 'Action is my Middle Name (BBC live version)' and 'The Kid’s a Looker (BBC live version)', recorded on Radio 2 in June 2011.

Also a remastered version of ‘Kill Uncle’ will be released that day, featuring a new tracklisting and cover art, with the addition of the songs ‘Pashernate Love’ and ‘East West’ (a Herman’s Hermits cover), as well the ‘live in studio’ version of ‘There’s a Place In Hell For Me and My Friends’.  

The new 'Kill Uncle' tracklisting is as follows:

01. Our Frank
02. Sing Your Life
03. Mute Witness
04. King Leer
05. Asian Rut
06. Pashernate Love
07. East West
08. Found Found Found
09. Driving Your Girlfriend Home
10. The Harsh Truth of the Camera Eye
11. There's a Place in Hell for Me and My Friends (live in the studio version)
12. (I'm) the End of the Family Line


Tags: Morrissey

Simple Minds To Release 'Celebrate - Greatest Hits +'

Simple Minds have announced that they'll be releasing a 2 and 3CD greatest hits collection titled "Celebrate - The Greatest Hits +" on March 25th. Plus, it will feature 2 brand new tracks.

The collection set will be available in two formats: a 2CD version which features 36 songs, spanning 12 albums over 34 years, and a 3CD version which features 50 songs, spanning 13 albums over 36 years, including the band’s interpretation of Patti Smith’s 'Dancing Barefoot' from their 2001 covers album ‘Neon Lights’. Both collections will include two brand new tracks from the band.

Check the tracklist and artwork for the two versions below.

Celebrate – Greatest Hits+ 2CD 

1. Life In A Day 
2. Chelsea Girl 
3. Changeling 
4. I Travel 
5. Celebrate 
6. The American 
7. Love Song 
8. Promised You A Miracle 
9. Glittering Prize 
10. Someone Somewhere (In Summertime) 
11. Waterfront 
12. Speed Your Love To Me 
13. Up On The Catwalk 
14. Don’t You (Forget About Me) 
15. Alive And Kicking 
16. Sanctify Yourself 
17. All The Things She Said 
18. Ghost Dancing 

1. Belfast Child 
2. This Is Your Land 
3. Kick It In 
4. Let There Be Love 
5. See The Lights 
6. Stand By Love 
7. She’s A River 
8. Hypnotised 
9. Glitterball 
10. War Babies 
11. Space 
12. Cry 
13. Spaceface 
14. Home 
15. Rockets 
16. Stars Will Lead The Way 
17. Blood Diamonds * 
18. Broken Glass Park * 

Greatest Hits+ 3CD plus two sided poster (one side shown in detailed images, the other side is as the Celebrate tour poster) 

1.Life In A Day 
2. Chelsea Girl 
3. Changeling 
4. I Travel 
5. Celebrate 
6. The American 
7. Love Song 
8. Sweat In Bullet 
9. Theme From Great Cities 
10. Promised You A Miracle 
11. Glittering Prize 
12. Someone Somewhere (In Summertime) 
13. New Gold Dream (81,82,83,84) 
14. Waterfront 
15. Speed Your Love To Me 
16. Up On The Catwalk 

1. Don’t You Forget About Me 
2. Alive And Kicking 
3. Sanctify Yourself 
4. All The Things She Said 
5. Ghost Dancing 
6. Promised You A Miracle (Live) 
7. Belfast Child 
8. Mandela Day 
9. Biko 
10. This Is Your Land 
11. Kick It In 
12. Let It All Come Down 
13. Let There Be Love 
14. See The Lights 
15. Stand By Love 
16. Real Life 

1. She’s A River 
2. Hypnotised 
3. Glitterball 
4. War Babies 
5. Space 
6. Jeweller To The Stars 
7. Dancing Barefoot 
8. Cry 
9. Spaceface 
10. One Step Closer 
11. Home 
12. Stranger 
13. Stay Visible 
14. Rockets 
15. Stars Will Lead The Way 
16. Stagefright 
17. Blood Diamonds * 
18. Broken Glass Park * 

*New 2013 track 
Release date 25th March 2013
Simple Minds Celebrate - Greatest Hits+ can be pre-ordered HERE

Listen: French Films New Single "Latter Days"

Finnish band French Films have shared the audio of their new single "Latter Days", taken from their forthcoming second album 'White Orchid'. The song is now part of our current playlist

The band's second effort will be released on 4th April in Finland, 3rd May in Asia and Europe via Gaea Records.

Check out the tracklist for White Orchid below.

1. White Orchid
2. Where We Come From
3. Ridin' On
4. Special Shades
5. All The Time You Got
6. Latter Days
7. Long Lost Children
8. Juveniles
9. Into Thousand Years
10. 99

Watch: The Kill Van Kulls Share 'Wooden Heart' Video

Manchester based four-piece, The Kill Van Kulls have unveiled the video for 'Wooden Heart', a classic tune on

The song was previously released in 2010, but a new re-recorded version will feature on their forthcoming Wooden Heart EP, released on 18th March 2013.

Watch the video below.

Wooden Heart EP tracklisting:

1. Wooden Heart
2. Somewhere in Time
3. Oceans
4. Rule The Night