Thursday, November 29, 2012

Kraftwerk's Karl Bartos Announces Second Solo Album 'Off the Record'

Former Kraftwerk member Karl Bartos has announced that he will release his second solo album "Off the record" on March 18th via Bureau B.

The follow up to his 2003 album 'Communication', features 12 tracks that were taken from song ideas he wrote during Kraftwerk's heyday (he kept a secret acoustic diary and jotted down ideas while on the road).

Bartos is calling these tracks "iron crystal music," which refers to the iron crystal cell-shaped Atomium building that was built for the 1958 Brussels World’s Fair. This new form of music encompasses a bevy of sounds, specifically "vocoder newspeak, robot sounds, digital glitch, techno pop, catchy melodies, electronic avant-garde, roaring silence, futurism, and, of course, those rhythms!".

Here's a first taste from Off The Record, the first track "Atomium":

Check the tracklisting for "Off The Record" below.

01. Atomium
02. Nachtfahrt
03. International Velvet
04. Without A Trace Of Emotion
05. The Binary Code
06. Musica Ex Machina
07. The Tuning Of The World
08. Instant Bayreuth
09. Vox Humana
10. Rhythmus
11. Silence
12. Hausmusik

For more on Karl Bartos visit his official website.