Friday, April 19, 2013

The Primitives To Release 25th Anniversary Edition Of 'Lovely'

The Primitives will celebrate the 25th anniversary of their debut album 'Lovely' with a re-release and a short anniversary UK tour in September.

Originally released in 1988, 'Lovely' features the international hit single "Crash", as well as the UK Top 100 hits "Stop Killing Me", "Thru the Flowers", and "Out of Reach".  

The expanded 2 CD Deluxe Edition of 'Lovely' will be released through Cherry Red Records in June. Scroll down the page for the tracklist and the tour dates.

Listen a live studio version of their hit single "Crash", recorded for Mike Joyce of The Smiths' radio show in 2011 below.


Disc 1:
01. Crash
02. Spacehead
03. Carry Me Home
04. Shadow
05. Thru The Flowers
06. Dreamwalk Baby
07. I'll Stick With You
08. Nothing Left
09. Stop Killing Me
10. Out Of Reach
11. Ocean Blue
12. Run Baby Run
13. Don't Want Anything To Change
14. Buzz Buzz Buzz

Disc 2:
01. Way Behind Me
02. Crash (1985 Demo)
03. All The Way Down
04. I'll Stick With You (single version)
05. Things Get In Your Way
06. Out Of Reach (single version)
07. Way Behind Me (acoustic version)
08. All The Way Down (beat version)
09. Crash (Again and Again)
10. Dreamwalk Baby (live)
11. Really Stupid (live)

Tour dates:

Sept 24 Manchester @ Sound Control
Sept 25 Leeds @ Brudenell
Sept 26 Wolverhampton @ Slade Rooms
Sept 27 Southend @ Chinnerys
Sept 28 London @ 100 Club

Tickets For Stone Roses Movie Premiere Sell Out In Less Than a Minute

Tickets for Shane Meadows' upcoming Made Of Stone: Stone Roses documentary film premiere, which will take place at Victoria Warehouse in Manchester, went on sale yesterday (18 April) and have sold out in less than one minute. 

The tickets are also sold out for the UK cinemas who are taking part in the nationwide broadcast, which has led to Picturehouse putting on additional screens. 

Speaking about the news Meadows says: "I'd love to think the tickets selling out so quick was down to the fan base I've built up over the last 15-20 years, but I know it's them lot that everyone's really coming to see. Bald Chunkers like me don't sell out stadiums, but if we've got a Guinness World Record I would deffo take the credit."

In a recent interview about the film, the director said: "It's not very often one of your heroes asks you to make a documentary about your all time favourite band, that are getting back together after twenty years." He was not only given unprecedented access to the band for almost a year, but he also followed fans of the Stone Roses around the world, to understand the influence that the band's music has on them.

The film will debut for the first time on Thursday 30 May and have a general release on 5 June. You can watch the trailer here.

Listen: Daft Punk Share Audio For New Single "Get Lucky"

French Electronica robot duo Daft Punk have finally shared the audio for their new single "Get Lucky".

Featuring Pharrell Williams and Chic bandleader Nile Rodgers, "Get Lucky" is the first cut taken from Daft Punk upcoming album 'Random Access Memories', which will be out on May 21st via Columbia Records..

A radio edit of the song can be purchased on iTunes. Stream it below.

In related news, it seems that Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories won’t come equipped with a video accompaniment, the robot duo recently told a French magazine there won't be any clip -at least for now.
“For now, there won’t be any clip. The record was made in a pretty old-school studio. We’re going to rediscover the spirit of the great spectacles of giant billboards on Sunset Boulevard for bands like Love, The Doors, Led Zeppelin. On certain TV shows, we might show 15 or 60 second spots. 
“Firstly, we don’t want to influence people’s ideas [of the music] with images. Second, most of the records we like and that are the source of inspiration for this record, those are pre-MTV albums. You’ve got the sleeve, lots of pictures and info, that’s all, and the absence of visuals around The Beatles doesn’t bother us, and in fact makes their music more accessible to us. ‘Thriller’ is the ultimate masterpiece. After that, it won’t be the same anymore, because of video clips. 
“Our vision is this - ’There you go. The record’s here. Listen to it, dive into it, and we’ll see after.’”