Friday, January 13, 2012

The Stranglers Announce New Album Details, UK Tour

The Stranglers have confirmed the details of their first studio album in six years, and have also outlined their plans for an extensive UK tour. 

Entitled 'Giants', the new album will be released on March 5th, with the UK tour kicking off on the 1st of that month at the Leeds O2 Academy. The band will then immediately move north of the border for two dates in Scotland at the Dunfermline Alhambra and Glasgow Academy, with dates then due for the remainder of the month, the last of which is scheduled for the Manchester Academy on March 24th.

'Giants' tracklist:

1) Another Camden Afternoon
2) Freedom Is Insane
3) Giants
4) Lowlands
5) Boom Boom
6) My Fickle Resolve
7) Time Was Once On My Side
8) Mercury Rising
9) Adios
10) 15 Steps.

The Vaccines Defend Rock N' Roll Music: Great Guitar Records Are Being Made

The Vaccines, who released their debut album last year, have said guitar shouldn't be based on their ranking in the charts. 

The band's frontman Justin Young has said talk of the death of rock n roll is getting ‘boring’, and added that many important rock records of the past have also failed to have any significant impact on the charts. There's been so much about the death of the guitar band, but so many great guitar records are being made at the moment."

"It really annoyed me. What is a guitar record? So many of the important guitar bands of the 80s had no impact on the charts but their legacy has been so important.

"I think we just need to shut up now. It's boring." He added.