Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Watch: The Yetis Unveil Music Video For Debut Single "Little Surfer Girl"

Allentown, Pennsylvania surf-rock/pop band The Yetis have unveiled the music video for their catchy debut single "Little Surfer Girl".

The pop-driven surf rock tune is part of our current playlist and was released in September last year b/w "Warm California", get the single here. The Yetis will release a new EP later this year.

The video was directed and edited by the band. Take a look below.


Watch: Suburban Living Premieres Music Video For "New Strings"

Virginia-based nu-gazev (new wave+shoegaze) artist Suburban Living (aka Wesley Bunch), has premiered the video for his latest single "New Strings".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from his recently released (January 27) eponymous debut full-length via PaperCup Music. Get the album here.

The clip was directed by Arielle Green. Take a look below.

Marsheaux Release 'A Broken Frame' A Tribute To Depeche Mode

Greek electro pop duo Marsheaux (aka Marianthi Melitsi and Sophie Sarigiannidou) have covered Depeche Mode's second ever album release in full as a tribute to one of the most influential groups of modern pop music.

'A Broken Frame' stands as "a tremendous challenge to dare cover it in full", the girls said, “In our minds ‘A Broken Frame’ is the most underestimated Depeche Mode album, it needs to find its fair place in the course of Depeche Mode’s career. When we started recordingthe first demos many said that the whole idea wasn’t good at all but we had faith in it and treated itwith love and respect. We know that it sounds strange to listen to ‘Leave In Silence’ or ‘My SecretGarden’ with female vocals. 

Depeche Mode’s ‘A Broken Frame’ was released in September 1982 and signaled the start of Martin Gore’s songwriting duties after Vince Clarke’s departure from the group. For this exact reason, ‘A Broken Frame’ is widely considered, their ‘first’ original, though it was released just one year after their official debut album ‘Speak And Spell’, an album that carried the songwriting seal of Vince Clarke who left the group to form Yazoo with Alison Moyet. Three singles were released from‘A Broken Frame’prior to the album release – ‘See You’ (January 1982), ‘Meaning Of Love’ (April 1982) and‘Leave In Silence’ (August 1982).

Marsheaux stand gracefully to the performing demands of the songs with a reflective sense when they sing for love’s calls (‘See You’, ‘Meaning Of Love’) as well as with a respect that the darker tracks need when dealing with loss and betrayal (‘Leave In Silence’, ‘My Secret Garden’). They also highlight with a fresh, modern production approach on masterpieces such as ‘Satellite’, ‘Monument’ and even the new romantic instrumental ‘Nothing To Fear’.

The album is available now digitally and will be out on vinyl and CD on February 23 via Undo Records. Get it here.

Stream "Leave in Silence" below.


Watch: The Jacques Reveal Music Video For "Weekends"

Bristol based britpop/rock band The Jacques have revealed the video for their infectious single "Weekends".

The song is taken from the band's debut EP 'Pretty DJ' (recorded in Rockfield Studios with Dan Swift), which came out in November last year through 25 Hour Convenience Store. Get the EP here.

Formed in January 2014, the Jacques are: Bonnie Jacques (voice/guitar), Elliot Jacques (drums), Oliver Jacques (bass/voice), Jake Jacques (guitar) and their all being aged aged 16-21.

Gary Powell, Libertines drummer and label co-founder, signed the band on the spot after seeing them perform in Hyde Park. He explains, "There was a really big crowd forming and I was interested to see who was on, and there were these 4 kids up there just owning it. I thought ok, we want this lot on the label.”He explains, “There was a really big crowd forming and I was interested to see who was on, and there were these 4 kids up there just owning it. I thought ok, we want this lot on the label."

'Weekends' / 'Baby, Turn The Light Off' will be released on February 23. 

Watch the video below.


Tags: The Jacques

Faithless To Reunite For 20th Anniversary This Summer

Dance legends Faithless have revealed they will reunite this summer for a show to celebrate their 20th anniversary.

The band announced: "This summer, Faithless return to celebrate 20 years as one of the world’s most successful live electronic acts.

This very special headline performance will take place in one of London’s most iconic open air settings. Do not miss the band at their electrifying best as Faithless come home."

The group consisting of singer Maxi Jazz, Sister Bliss keyboardist and producer Rollo became famous with songs like 'We Come 1', 'Insomnia' and 'God is a DJ " before calling it a day in 2011.

Get your ticket here and check out the accompanying video below.


New Entry: Dutch Uncles Drop New Single "Be Right Back"

Manchester based experimental pop band Dutch Uncles have dropped their new single "Be Right Back".

The song is taken from their upcoming fourth studio album 'O Shudder', which will be out on February 23 via Memphis Industries. Pre-order your copy here,

Previously the band have already shared the tracks "In N Out", "Decided Knowledge", and "Drips"

Have a listen to the track below.