Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Watch: The Strypes Share "What A Shame" Music Video

Irish indie rock band The Strypes have unveiled the video for "What A Shame", the third single from their upcoming debut album 'Snapshot', which will be released on 9 September through Virgin EMI Records..

The song is part of our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com.

Ross Farrelly (vocals, harmonica), Josh McClorey (guitar, vocals), Pete O’Hanlon (bass) and Evan Walsh (drums), cite influences including Chuck Berry, Bo Diddley, Howlin’ Wolf and Little Walter.

The video was directed by Finn Keenan and captures the mood and energy of the youngsters' live show.

Watch it below.

Website: thestrypes.com

Watch: The Polyphonic Spree Premiere "Let Them Be" Music Video

Indie psych pop rock supergroup The Polyphonic Spree have shared the video for "Let Them Be", another cut from their recently released fourth studio album Yes, It's True, out via Good Records.

Just a few days ago, the band revealed the video for the album's first single "You Don't Know Me" and now their sharing the clip for "Let them Be". Both tracks are part of our current playlist.

About the song, band founder Tim DeLaughter says: "Let Them Be is a song I created from looking at images of Ernest Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea while working on some beats via Garage Band a few days before the recording session to finish the new album. I basically wrote the music and lyrics for it right there and saved most of it for the final recording, including the vocals."

The video was directed by Ben Rowe, who explains: "This is a narrative of conscious devolution. Our hero moves against the grain to return to origin rather than participate in civilized institutions. I would say that it's a video in defense of taking a day and staying in bed. Sometimes."

Watch the video below.

Website: www.thepolyphonicspree.com

Watch: Pleasure Curses Unveil New Video For "PNKLKR"

Washington DC/VA based electronic dance duo Pleasure Curses (aka Jahn Alexander and Evan Maxwell)have unveiled the video for "PNKLKR", taken from their recently released EP of the same name.

The song is part of our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com

The video was directed by Guillaume Thuillier. Watch it below.

The Bongos To Release Long-Lost Album 'Phantom Train' In October

Hoboken's popular 80s band The Bongos have announced they will release a new collection of rare and unreleased tracks titled 'Phantom Train'.

Originally intended as the follow-up to 1985's Beat Hotel, Phantom Train was recorded in 1986 in the Bahamas by E.T. Thorngren but was left unfinished. Last month, frontman Richard Barone restored and remixed the LP, which will finally see the light on October 1 via the recently revived JEM Recordings. 

Sounding at once vintage eighties and freshly-minted, it comprises some of the most compelling pop statements the group was to make.

The band have already released "My Wildest Dreams" a long lost 80s classic, which features on the collection. The song is no part of our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com and you can get it through iTunes.

The tracklist for Phantom Train is as follows:

01. My Wildest Dreams
02. I Belong To Me
03. Sunshine Superman
04. Diamond Guitar
06. Run to the Wild
07. River To River
08. One Bold Stroke
09. Phantom Train
10. Tangled In Your Web
11. Saturn Eyes
12. Roman Circus
13. Under Someone's Spell (demo)
14. Town Of One
15. My Wildest Dreams (demo)

Find them on facebook: www.facebook.com/TheBongosOfficial

Watch: Cloud Control Share Music Video For "Scar"

Australian psych-pop quartet Cloud Control have shared the video for "Scar", the second single off their sophomore full-length Dream Cave, out now in Australia via Ivy League, 16th Sept in UK, via Infectious, and 17th Sept in the US via Votiv.

The song is part of our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com.

The band, now based in London, tapped producer and engineer Barny Barnicott (Spiritualized, Arctic Monkeys, Franz Ferdinand) to help craft their sophomore full-length. "Scar" is out now on iTunes

The video was directed by David Young, and was filmed in Iceland, mostly in the rain. Watch it below.

The Charlatans Drummer Jon Brookes Dies Aged 44

The Charlatans drummer and founding member, Jon Brookes has died this morning at the age of 44 after a battle with brain cancer.

Brookes was diagnosed with a brain tumor in 2010 after collapsing onstage during a concert in Philadelphia. He had continued working on new material with the band despite undergoing several surgeries, including one in July. Though the band said the most recent operation had gone well, Brookes had remained in the hospital for further treatment. He is survived by his wife and three daughters.

The Charlatans formed in 1989 in the West Midlands region of England. Brookes was a founding member of the band, whose 2010 LP Who We Touch is the most recent of their 11 studio albums. The group has had 22 Top 40 hits in Britain, including "The Only One I Know" and "One to Another."

Charlatans frontman Tim Burgess tweeted that the band was "torn apart" at the news: "Jon Brookes, my friend, our drummer and inspiration to so many, passed away this morning. We are torn apart. Love & thoughts to Jon's family." 

He also thanked "everyone for their messages and memories of Jon. So much love on such a sad day".

A further statement from the band read: "Jon was a brilliant drummer, an inspiration, a founding member of The Charlatans, part of our family and a friend to everyone in and around the band. Losing someone who was always so full of life is a tragedy that will be shared by so many. Our thoughts are with Debbie and all of Jon's family."

RIP Jon Brookes.