Wednesday, January 30, 2013

OMD Reveal Artwork For New Album 'English Electric'

OMD have unveiled the official artwork for their forthcoming new album 'English Electric' out on 8th April . 

The formats available to buy are the standard CD, deluxe CD/DVD mediabook, heavyweight vinyl and collectors' tin boxset. Physical formats are now available to pre-order HERE. The album will be preceded by the single, "Metroland" which is scheduled to be released on March 25th.

Watch the artwork for 'English Electric' below.

Cold Cave Announce "Oceans With No End" EP

Wesley Eisold has announced a new Cold Cave EP titled "Oceans With No End" will be out soon via Deathwish, Jacob Bannon's label. 

According to a press release, the EP comes in the form of two "morose" industrial tracks, the upbeat "Oceans With No End" b/w the angrier "People Are Poison". 

Eisold sings and plays all the instruments. 

The press release also features handwritten lyrics from Eisold, watch it below.

Shane Meadows Unveils Stone Roses Documentary Title

Filmmaker Shane Meadows' forthcoming documentary on the Stone Roses reunion has been entitled "The Stone Roses: Made Of Stone". 

The renowned director has teamed up with Film4, 4DVD and Warp Films for the project, which tells the story of the Manchester band’s comeback tour last year which was defined by the record breaking three-night stay at Manchester’s Heaton Park.

Meadows has said: “When Ian Brown rang me to tell me my favourite band of all time was getting back together again, it was like every Roses fan’s wildest dreams were coming true. People tell you that you can’t recapture your youth, it won’t be the same. I don’t believe that.”

“I’m going to make up for the nightmare of a lifetime at 17 years old, being sat in a flat having a bad trip when I could have been at Spike Island, being part of one of the most momentous things ever.”

Film4 executive producer Katherine Butler added: "It’s hard to think of a film that could be any more exciting. A combination of Shane’s wonderfully insightful directorial eye, the seminal genius of The Stone Roses, and our brilliant friends at Warp – what else is there to say? We’re thrilled."

The film includes footage of the band's early rehearsals and subsequent performances on the road in Spain, Germany and Japan, and it's scheduled for cinema release later this year.

Watch: Jagwar Ma Share "The Throw" Video

Sydney-based duo Jagwar Ma have unveiled the video for their new single "The Throw" out February 27th via Marathon Artists. The song is part of our current playlist

The video was directed by Andrew Lancaster. Watch it below.

Electronic To Re-Issue Debut Album

90′s supergroup Electronic, featuring Bernard Sumner (New Order/Joy Division), Johnny Marr (The Smiths) and Neil Tennant (Pet Shop Boys), will re-released their debut self titled album in an expanded and remastered edition, featuring some previously unreleased tracks.

The reissue will include a newly remastered edition of the original album on one disc, accompanied by a second CD featuring a dozen alternate versions, remixes, edits, B-sides and instrumentals, including the Tennant-sung non-album single "Disappointed" and two versions of the title track to 1999's Twisted Tenderness.

Musing on the group's origins recently, Johnny Marr said: "We were two musicians who wanted to get away from the suffocating politics of the band. At the same time it was OK for duos and DJs and non-groups to make records, and that really appealed to Bernard and me. We saw ourselves more in the tradition of David Byrne and Brian Eno, with a lot of technotronics and FX, and Kraftwerk was a very important touchstone for Bernard. So the times were perfect because it was all right to make records with machines, and not have to be four guys stood up against a wall."

The new edition of 'Electronic' will be released on April 8th. The Tracklisting is as follows:

CD 1 
01. Idiot Country (2012 - Remaster)
02. Reality (2012 - Remaster)
03. Tighten Up (2012 - Remaster)
04. The Patience Of A Saint (2012 - Remaster)
05. Getting Away With It (2012 - Remaster)
06. Gangster (2012 - Remaster)
07. Soviet (2012 - Remaster)
08. Get The Message (2012 - Remaster)
09. Try All You Want (2012 - Remaster)
10. Some Distant Memory (2012 - Remaster)
11. Feel Every Beat (2012 - Remaster)

CD 2
01. Disappointed (Stephen Hague 7” Inch Version)
02. Second To None (Edit) *
03. Lean To The Inside (Edit) *
04. Twisted Tenderness (Guitar / Vocal Mix) *
05. Idiot Country Two (12” Version)
06. Free Will (Edit) *
07. Until The End Of Time (Edit) *
08. Feel Every Beat (Edit) *
09. Getting Away With It (Instrumental)
10. Turning Point (Edit)
11. Visit Me (Edit) *
12. Twisted Tenderness” (Instrumental) *

* Previously unreleased