Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Hookworms Announce New LP 'Microshift', Stream "Negative Space"

Leeds neo-psych band Hookworms have announced the release of their third studio album titled 'Microshift'

The follow-up to 2014's The Hum, was recorded and written after the band had to rebuild their Suburban Home Studio after it was flooded in 2015, and will be out on February 2 through Domino. Pre-order your copy here.

"All of our records are to an extent about mental health," says the band's MJ of the album in a statement. “Largely this is an album about loss but also about maturing, accepting your flaws and the transience of intimacy”. 

01. Negative Space
02. Static Resistance
03. Ullswater
04. The Soft Season
05. Opener
06. Each Time We Pass
07. Boxing Day
08. Reunion
09. Shortcomings

The band are also streaming the album's lead single "Negative Space". Have a listen below.

Watch: Distractor Release Music Video For "Human"

OC-based synth punk/post punk band Distractor have released the video for their infectious Devo-esque track "Human".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from the band upcoming new album 'This Time I Got It Figured Out', which will be out in early 2018 via Burger Records. 

Watch the band's method to turn a robot into a human below.


Tags: Distractor

Watch: Delagoon Unleash Music Video For "Somehow"

Stockholm-based new wave/post punk band Delagoon have unleashed a horror-themed video for "Somehow".

The song is part of our current playlist and came out last year via Swedish label Hybris, get it here if you haven't already. The band are currently working on a new album.

The video was directed by Jonatan Södergre, who explained: “Some of us watched the film Dr. Caligari’s Cabinet at a friend’s house. Inspired by that movie we wanted to do something akin to a classic horror video. Some other inspirations are Scooby Doo and the work of Francis Bacon. We wanted to do something that was both scary and whimsical at the same time.”

Watch it below.


Tags: Delagoon

Watch: The Jungle Giants Unveil Music Video For "Bad Dream"

Brisbane indie pop/rock band The Jungle Giants have unveiled the video for "Bad Dream".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their latest album 'Quiet Ferocity', which came out back in July. Buy it here

The clip was directed by Schall and Schnabel. Take a look below.

Watch: Ought Reveal Music Video For New Single "These 3 Things"

Montreal post punk band Ought  have revealed the video for their brand new single "These 3 Things".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from the album 'Room Inside The World', which will be out on February 16, 2018 on Merge Records / Royal Mountain Records. Pre-order your copy here.

The video was directed by Jonny Look and Scottie Cameron. Watch it below.