Friday, July 09, 2021

Watch: The Lipschitz Premiere New Single/Video "squabble"

Chicago garage punk duo The Lipschitz have premiered the video for their new single "squabble".

The song is taken from their upcoming album 'Chevron', which will be available on July 31 through Company Businesses Inc™. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch/listen below.

Shubostar Drops New Single/Video "Spiegel feat. Justine Forever"

South Korea indie dance/italo disco artist Shubostar have dropped the video for her new single "Spiegel feat. Justine Forever".

The song is taken from her new EP 'Spiegel', out today (July 9) through Internasjonal. Grab your copy here.

From Shubostar: "Some story about the track Spiegel, "Spiegel" is from the character “Spike Spiegel” from one of my fav Japanese sci-fi anime “Cowboy Bebob”. When I asked Justine Forever for featuring, I didn’t mention any about it but she wrote the lyrics like this." 

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Shubostar

New Entry: The Avenues Release New Single "Moving Car"

Hull indie pop/rock four-piece The Avenues have released their new single "Moving Car".

The song is taken from their forthcoming EP 'The View Is Amazing', set to arrive on September 10th. Get it here.

With their debut EP What Happened In The Pink Room earning the band comparisons to the likes of The Cribs, Spector and Franz Ferdinand. That was until COVID hit. Rather than wallow in the shadow of cancelled shows and the haze of uncertainty that was surrounding the music industry for much of 2020 however, The Avenues spent that time honing their sound in order to craft the perfect follow-up EP.

‘Moving Car’ is an equally intelligent take on the band’s trademark ramshackle indie-pop. Interested in exploring ideas of existential dread, of seizing the day and making the most of the time we’re given, ‘Moving Car’ is four minutes of upbeat and optimistic indie pop that continues The Avenues’ ascent to the top of their game.

Take a listen below.

Watch: Farewell Dear Ghost Return With New Single/Video "Nobody"

Austria power pop/indie rock band Farewell Dear Ghost have returned with their new single "Nobody", their first in four years.

The song is out today (July 9) via Ink Music. Buy it here.

Stream it below.


New Entry: Chase City Unleash New Single "FTP"

Tasmanian indie rock/dance band Chase City have unleashed their new single "FTP".

The song is out today (July 9). Take a listen below.


Tags: Chase City

New Entry: Midi Memory Unveils Debut Single "No Return"

Midi Memory, the side project of Cathedral Bells' Matt Messore, has unveiled his debut single "No Return".

The song is out today (July 9) through Spirit Goth Records. Get your copy here.

Midi Memory pulls from dark wave and synth pop influences, complete with relentless drum loops and atmospheric vocals. Messore often brings bright and dark tones to the forefront, ultimately creating a sound that resonates with those passionate about the minimal synthesizer and the abundance of eclectic sounds it can help to create.

Take a listen below.

New Entry: WOOZE Share New Single "Tu Es Moi"

British/Korean indie pop/alt duo WOOZE have shared new single "Tu Es Moi".

The song is taken from the forthcoming new EP ’Get Me To A Nunnery’, set to be released on October 22 through Young Poet Records. Get it here.

Here’s how they described the song: “Another pun-based fun chasing song that riffs off the French ambiguity between the phrases ‘you are me’ and ‘kill me’. It’s written from the perspective of a jealous, ambitious, and most probably adolescent rival. Another song that we finished very quickly in an afternoon, and is the oldest song on this EP, written a few years ago when we first started."

Stream it below.


Tags: Wooze

Watch: The Lovely Eggs Air "I, Moron" Featuring Iggy Pop

Lancaster  lo-fi/psychedelic/punk duo The Lovely Eggs have aired the video for their new single "I,Moron" featuring Iggy Pop.

The song, backed by a cover of Iggy Pop’s “Dum Dum Boys” from his 1977 album ‘The Idiot’, is out today (July 9) via Egg Records. Grab it here.

“Being in The Lovely Eggs we’re kind of used to surreal experiences but collaborating with Iggy Pop takes the biscuit,” exclaims singer/guitarist Holly Ross. “It’s actually unbelievable. For him just to say nothing but “moron” over and over again fitted in with the sentiment of the song perfectly. He just GOT it. We are all morons. In a world of moronic things. In a world of moronic ideas. You are moron. I am Moron. We are Moron.”

Watch/listen below.

New Entry: The Rotanas Premiere New Single "Get The Call"

Cardiff based indie rock band The Rotanas have premiered their new single "Get The Call".

Get The Call written by new band member Aaron Tormey, is infused with '90s indie, psychedelic and shoegaze elements. He says the track, for him, is loosely about putting effort into something but questioning if it's what you're meant to be doing in life and whether it's worth the struggle. But song meanings can be interchangeable from person to person, and he adds that "personally, I like to be quite ambiguous when speaking of the inspiration and meaning behind tracks as I like to let the listener interpret it how they see fit."

Take a listen below.

Watch: Idle Youth Release New Single/Video "First Contact"

London dream pop/indie pop band Idle Youth have released the video for their catchy new single "First Contact".

The song is out today (July 9). Buy it here.

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Idle Youth

New Entry: Bootblacks Reveal "The Jealous Star (Automelodi Remix)"

Brooklyn post punk/cold wave/new wave band Bootblacks have revealed the Automelodi remix of their song "The Jealous Star".

It is taken from their forthcoming remix album 'Thin Skies Remix' out on September 3rd via Artoffact Records, based off the success of Thin Skies, released in September 2020. Pre-order your copy here.

From the band: "To go with our VHS theme of the day, we're premiering a video that has waited 28 years to see the light of day. Originally filmed in 1993 and starring Barrett's wonderful sister Vanessa. Thank you so much to Melissa Cruz for allowing us to use it, and remember to Be Kind and Rewind!"

Watch below.


Tags: Bootblacks

Watch: Emperor of Ice Cream Unleash "High Rise, Low Rise" Music Video

Irish indie rock/dream pop band Emperor of Ice Cream have unleashed the video for their latest single "High Rise, Low Rise".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their 2020 debut album 'No Sound Ever Dies'. Get it here.

The video which was written and directed by Veronica Terreblanche and reimagined by Emperors frontman John Haggis will mark ‘No Sound Ever Dies’ first anniversary and the 2nd pressing of the album on vinyl and CD. 

Since Emperor of Ice Cream announced their return from a twenty-five-year hiatus in May 2020 and with the release of their long-awaited debut album last August, they have embarked on a chapter that very few, if any, expected would be written. As well as the release of acclaimed debut and due to the wide acclaim for the album and the associated singles the band have not only appeased their long-established cult following but have garnered a new legion of supporters around the globe, which in turn created a renewed demand for the bands back catalogue.

Watch the clip below.