Thursday, March 25, 2021

Tennis System Announce New LP 'Autophobia', Stream "Truth Hurts"

L.A. noise pop /pvnkgaze band Tennis System have announced the release of their new studio album  'Autophobia'.

The follow-up to 2019's Lovesick, was written and produced with Chadwick Johnson (a friend since he and Taylor toured together in 2017) and mixed and mastered by Sam Pura (The Story So Far, Basement, Spice), it will be out in late summer 2021 through Quiet Panic Records (US). Pre-order your copy here.

Written and recorded entirely during the pandemic, Autophobia marks a thrilling new chapter and a logical shift in sound for the project, led by guitarist/vocalist Matty Taylor. Autophobia is a departure from expectation for Tennis System, an auspicious embrace of the moment, and for Taylor, a confrontation of his fear of failing as a solo artist.

Rather than a failure, 'Autophobia' is nothing short of a wildly catchy and moving album. Tennis System’s most personal offering, it is minimalist and vocals-driven, the unlikely bedroom project of a feral live musician -- music to memorialize a lost year. With Johnson, Taylor veered from the scuzzy guitars and pummeling drums he’s known for, instead weaving synth and drum machines with live drums and guitar -- and even the hum of a swarm of bees -- to form a tapestry of textured soundscapes unlike anything he’d created before. “Writing these songs without a band let me make music without having to meet anyone’s expectations but my own,” says Taylor. In unprecedented times, “I focused on making the record I wanted to make.”

Watch the video for new single "Truth Hurts" below.


Tags: Tennis System

Watch: Hause Plants Reveals New Single/Video "Summer Salt"

Portugal-based dream pop artist Guilherme Machado Correia aka Hause Plants has revealed the video for his new single "Summer Salt".

The song is out today (March 25) and is taken from the upcoming EP 'Film For Color Photos', out this summer through Spirit Goth / BIRTHDIY. Get it here.

Watch/listen below.

New Canyons Detail New LP 'Heavy Water', Stream "No Shame"

Chicago darkpop/shoegaze/darkwave band New Canyons have revealed full details of their long awaited new album 'Heavy Water'

The 12-track record will be released on April 30 via Feeltrip Records, featuring their previous single "Blackest", and the brand new song  "No Shame". Pre-order your copy here.

New Canyons is the darker side of shoegaze, born out of 1980s post-punk synths and midwest winters. The duo has been playing together since they were youth in Michigan, where their love of shoegaze, industrial, and alt. rock was formed. Since their last album, Everyone Is Dark, New Canyons has developed a more self-aware, confident and sometimes aggressive sound that is truly unique. The duo rides the genre line, oscillating between shoegaze, noise, and darkwave with 1980s alt. rock influences.

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for their new single "No Shame", below.

Heavy Water Tracklist:
01. Dark Times
02. Post Nothing
04. No Shame
05. The Others
06. Spirit '83
07. Breathe
08. Heavy Water
09. Savior
10. Adult Education
11. In Extremis
12. Every City

Watch: Lacuna Common Return With New Single/Video "Window Pane"

Oxford indie rock band Lacuna Common have returned with their their new single "Window Pane", and its accompanying video.

The song is out now and taken from their upcoming debut EP 'It’s All Talk' out on May. Grab it here.

From the band: "We wrote this song way back when we could all go and get haircuts and do the normal things in life. This song is about exactly that, normality and not conforming to it."

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Lacuna Common