Wednesday, August 18, 2021

Taraka Announces Debut Album 'Welcome to Paradise Lost', Shares "Psychocastle"

New York punk rock artist Taraka (FKA Prince Rama) has announced the release of her debut full-length album 'Welcome to Paradise Lost'. 

The 14-track album will be out on October 8 via her own new label, Rage Peace, featuring her new single "Psychocastle". Pre-order your copy here

Since the breakup of the legendary underground cult duo Prince Rama, former frontwoman Taraka started recording songs that sound like the vivid visions of the disturbed daughter of Kate Bush and Johnny Rotten who drank ayahuasca at the gates of Warped Tour ’02, merging bastard elements of outsider-psych, post-edenic grunge, kaleidoscopic punk and post-adolescent angst.

“Ever try to escape your bedroom, but feel like you’re still asleep? Ever try to wake up, but find yourself back in the dream?  Ever try to take off your mask, but another one pops up beneath it? Ever try to consult your inner self, but inside your skin is merely a rotting corpse? Ever feel like every path you take is just another mobius strip leading you back to where you first began? Congratulations, welcome to the Psychocastle.” – Taraka  

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for "Psychocastle", below.

Welcome to Paradise Lost Tracklist:
01. Once Again
02. Welcome to Paradise Lost
03. Sad Blue Eyes
04. Ride or Die
05. Psychocastle
06. Total Failure
07. 0010110
08. Lucifer Exit
09. So Happy for You
10. Practice Makes Perfect
11. Bad Bonezz
12. Thank You
13. Deep Hollow
14. Old Gloves


New Entry: Church Girls Drop New Single "Separated"

Philadelphia indie rock/post punk band Church Girls have dropped their new single "Separated".

The song is out nowvia Big Scary Monsters and is the first taste of their forthcoming new record. Get it here.

'Separated' finds revelation in escape while channeling the spoken-word delivery of The Hold Steady and the sheer force of Mannequin Pussy.

"This song is an ode to my twin brother," vocalist Mariel Beaumont (she/her) explains. "It's about realising home was no longer what we thought it was when a family member's battle with alcoholism came to a head. The song is still hopeful in a way since we knew we'd always have a home in each other. He's still my best friend and the first person to hear every song I write."

Take a listen below.

New Entry: Deeper Reveal "The Knife (Good Morning Remix)"

Chicago post punk/indie rock band Deeper have reveal the Good Morning remix of their song "The Knife".

The remix is taken from the Deluxe version of his latest album 'Auto-Pain', set to arrive on September 3 via Fire Talk. Pre-order your copy here.

Stream it below.


Tags: Deeper

Watch: HighSchool Unleash New Single/Video "Sirens"

Melbourne post punk/coldwave/new wave three-piece HighSchool have unleashed the video for their new single "Sirens".

The song is out today (August 18) through Dalliance Recordings and is taken from their upcoming debut EP, out in October. Get it here.

Watch/listen below.