Friday, September 14, 2012

Soft Lighting Announce New EP 'Laser Tag'

Soft Lighting, Kansas City based musician and producer Bryan Cox solo project, will released a new 4-track EP entitled 'Laser Tag' on September 21 through AMdiscs. 

Equipped with a Juno 60 and a bedroom studio, Cox makes his own brand of light headed pop music influenced by Italo Disco, 80s film soundtracks and contemporary Chillwave artists.

We've been spinning his lovely song "Love Is Love" a lot since August and we can't get enough...

Check the 'Laser Tag' tracklisting below.

01. Laser Tag
02. Fly To The Web
03. Fall With Me
04. Hong Kong Nights

And here's the video for 'Fly To The Web'

You can buy Soft Lighting previous releases HERE.

The Who Tribute Album Announced Featuring Iggy Pop, The Kinks, The Raveonettes...

On October 2, Cleopatra Records will release WHO ARE YOU: AN ALL STAR TRIBUTE TO THE WHO. As The Who approaches a nearly 50-year career, artists in genres from classic to progressive rock, and from punk to country, it will see the likes of The Kinks, Iggy Pop and The Raveonettes paying their respects to the legendary rock band.

Cleopatra Records, behind the release, say: “The Who has sold over 100 million records, had 27 top 40 hits, 17 top ten albums and have been certified gold 18 times, platinum 12 times and multi-platinum five times. They have been described as one of the greatest rock bands in history by Rolling Stone, the Grammy Foundation, VH1 and the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts.

“With such weight put on this band’s musical output, the contributors to Who Are You have brought every ounce of creativity, attitude and reverence to the collection.”

The tracklisting for 'Who Are You: An All Star Tribute To The Who’ is as follows:

1. ‘Eminence Front’ – John Wetton (Asia), K.K. Downing (Judas Priest), Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater)
2. Baba O’Riley – Nektar, Jerry Goodman (Mahavishnu Orchestra)
3. I Can See For Miles – Mark Lindsay (Paul Revere & the Raiders), Wayne Kramer (MC5)
4. Love Reign O’er Me – Joe Elliot (Def Leppard), Rick Wakeman (Yes), Huw Lloyd-Langton (Hawkwind), Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge)
5. My Generation – Knox (The Vibrators), Dave Davies (The Kinks), Rat Scabies (The Damned)
6. The Kids Are Alright – The Raveonettes
7. Won’t Get Fooled Again – Sweet
8. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere – Todd Rundgren, Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge)
9. I Can’t Explain – Iggy Pop
10. Behind Blue Eyes – Pat Travers
11. Magic Bus – Peter Noone (Herman’s Hermits), Peter Banks (Yes), Ginger Baker (Cream)
12. Who Are You – Gretchen Wilson, Randy Bachman (Bachman-Turner Overdrive)
13. Pinball Wizard – Terry Reid, Mike Pinera (Blues Image), Brad Gillis (Night Ranger)
14. Squeeze Box – John Wesley (Porcupine Tree), David Cross (King Crimson)
15. Bargain – 38 Special, Ted Turner (Wishbone Ash), Ian Paice (Deep Purple)
16. The Seeker – Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow), Leslie West (Mountain)

Watch: Weird Dreams Share 'Vague Hotel' Video

Weird Dreams have unveiled their brand new video for 'Vague Hotel', taken from their debut album 'Choreography'. The song is part of our regular rotation

The video was directed by Sarah Keeling. Watch it below.

Watch: A Place To Bury Strangers New Video For 'Leaving Tomorrow'

A Place To Bury Strangers have unveiled the self-directed video for their new single "Leaving Tomorrow" taken from their latest album 'Worship' out now via Dead Oceans. The song is part of our regular rotation

The video was based on the short story "Katsu Gee" by Momo Fujiwara.
Watch it below.