Wednesday, September 05, 2018

Watch: Ladytron Reveal Music Video For "The Island"

Liverpool electro-pop band Ladytron have revealed the video for their latest single "The Island."

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their upcoming sixth studio (the details of which have yet to be announced), which will be out later this year. Pre-order your copy here.

The video was shot by Bryan M. Ferguson in and around Glasgow. Watch it below.


Tags: Ladytron

PILL Announce New LP 'Soft Hell', Premiere "Fruit" Music Video

Brooklyn, NY post-punk/no wave band Pill have announced the release of their new album titled 'Soft Hell'.

This is the band's second full-length album for Mexican Summer, it will be out on October 26, and is a raucous, splintering dispatch from New York City, animated by the madcap ingenuity of a foursome finding a palpable sense of joy and play in expressions of caustic, black humor. Like the contradiction of the album title, which references our acceptance of everyday miseries, it’s a slew of dichotomies, a frenzied cutup. It’s bleeding saxophone and lustrous feedback sounding somehow pastoral, and winking hooks subtly infused with venom.

Pill resent complacency, whether in political or creative senses. “For me this band’s about being provocative with sound,” said saxophonist Benjamin Jaffe. Drummer Andrew Spaulding said the album title, Soft Hell, critiques the “work-to-play” cliché of New York life, with its breakneck, competitive pursuit of comfort. Torres added that it evokes sexual bondage, describing Soft Hell as a reference to the cyclical monotony of humans harming one another.

They play post-punk, maybe no wave, mostly insofar as the terms are far-reaching creative passports.

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklist and the video for their new single "Fruit", below.

Soft Hell Tracklist:
01. A.I.Y.M
02. Dark Glass
03. Fruit
04. HAHA
05. Sin Compromiso
06. Soft Hell
07. Softer Side
08. Double Think
09. Midtown
10. Plastic
11. Power Abuser
12. OK


Tags: PILL

Watch: Party Hardly Unveil "Terry Shure" Music Video

Leeds based dream pop/garage rock band Party Hardly have unveiled the video for their latest single "Terry Shure".

The song is taken from their forthcoming debut EP 'Cycle of Life' released on November 23rd through Healthy Eating Records / Cargo Records UK. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch the clip below, it was written and directed by Milda Baginskaite.


Tags: Party Hardly

Watch: Fews Unleash Music Video For "Business Man"

US/SE/UK alternative/post punk/noise pop band Fews have unleashed the video for their latest single "Business Man".

The song is part of our current playlist and came out last month (August 21). Buy it here.

Watch the video below.


Tags: FEWS

The Twilight Sad Announce New LP 'It Won/T Be Like This All the Time', Stream "Videograms"

Scottish post punk trio The Twilight Sad have announced the release of their fifth full-length album 'It Won/T Be Like This All the Time'.

The 11-track album will be out 18 January 2019 on Rock Action Records. Pre-order your copy here.

For this record, they officially brought long-time touring members Brendan Smith (The Blue Nile, The Unwinding Hours) and Johnny Docherty (Take a Worm For a Walk Week, RUNGS) in from the wings to help push The Twilight Sad to the next plateau.’ “I’ve always seen Brendan and Johnny as part of the band and it’s time to say that aloud,” frontman James Alexander Graham affirms.“From the actual coming together of the demos to recording the final versions of these songs has probably been one of my favourite experiences of being in the band. All four of us were throwing ideas in, whereas before Andy had mapped it all out. Once he got past the point of making the demos his point of view was ‘we need to make these even better. These need to take a step up from where they are.’ He opened the floor to everybody.”

“It’s a dark record but I think there are some uplifting moments to be had too,” Graham offers. “There are so many extremes here – there are moments that are harsh, then others that are quite melodic and others that are stripped right down. This album definitely comes with the extremes of every side of the band, I think. There’s a certain direct openness and candour now but at the same time, I want to keep some mystery. We don’t like to throw things in people’s faces and spell it out for them.”

The band have also shared their new single "Videograms", Graham says: "'Videograms' was the first song written for the album but the last song finished before we went in to record. It’s one of the most melodic things we’ve done. Since writing the song I’ve heard the phrase "don’t you start on me” whilst walking down the street, in the supermarket, in the pub. It must have been something that I’d heard a lot that stuck with me and came out in this song."

Check out the tracklist and listen to "Videograms" below..

01. [10 Good Reasons for Modern Drugs]
02. Shooting Dennis Hopper Shooting
03. The Arbor
04. VTr
05. Sunday Day13
06. I/m Not Here [Missing Face]
07. Auge/Maschine
08. Keep It All to Myself
09. Girl Chewing Gum
10. Let/s Get Lost


Tags: The Twilight Sad

Watch: Ben Browning Shares Music Video For "Even Though"

Australian producer/songwriter and long time Cut Copy member Ben Browning has shared the video for his latest single "Even Though".

The song is part of our current playlist and is the title track of his latest album 'Even Though', which came out in June via Yellow Year Records. Buy your copy here.

The video was directed by Christopher Hill and Ben Browning. Watch it below.


Tags: Ben Browning

New Entry: Roosevelt Releases New Single "Getaway"

Cologne based electro-pop singer, songwriter and producer Marius Lauber aka Roosevelt, has released his new single "Getaway".

The song is taken from his forthcoming sophomore album 'Young Romance', which will be out on September 28 via Greco-Roman / City Slang. Pre-order your copy here.

Stream it below.


Tags: Roosevelt

Watch: Spring King Reveal Music Video For "The Hum"

Manchester indie rockers Spring King have revealed the video for "The Hum".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their new album 'A  Better Life', released last Friday (August 31) via Island Records. Get your copy here.

About the track, band memeber James Green said: “’The Hum’ is a song about returning to old haunts and old memories, and attempting to relive those visceral experiences and emotions, whilst realising that you’ve allowed yourself to slip into a life that wasn’t necessarily what you’d planned. It also came to encompass all the broader themes that the album touches on - self-reflection, overcoming adversity and negativity, and a constant striving for something better.”

WAtch the clip below.


Tags: Spring King