Monday, October 21, 2019

The Orielles Announce New LP 'Disco Volador', Stream "Come Down On Jupiter"

Halifax//Liverpool post-dance/surf/garage psych band The Orielles have announced the release of their brand new album 'Disco Volador'.

The  follow-up to 2018's debut Silver Dollar Moment, will be out via Heavenly Recordings on February 28th, and sees the 4-piece push their sonic horizon to its outer limits as astral travellers, hitching a ride on the melodic skyway to evade the space-time continuum through a sharp collection of progressive strato-pop symphonies. Pre-order your copy here.

Voyaging through cinematic samba, 70s disco, deep funk boogies, danceable grooves and even tripping on 90s acid house, Disco Volador is set to propel The Orielles spinning into a higher zero-gravity orbit. Written and recorded in just 12 months, it captures the warp-speed momentum of their post-Silver Dollar Moment debut album success; an unforgettable summer touring, playing festivals like Green Man and bluedot, Disco Volador’s library catalogue vibes stem from a band lapping up and widening their pool of musical discovery whether nodding to Italian film score maestros Sandro Brugnolini and Piero Umiliani, or the Middle Eastern tones of Khruangbin and Altin Gün.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to their new singles new single "Come Down On Jupiter" below.

Disco Volador tracklist:
01. Come Down On Jupiter
02. Rapid I
03. Memoirs Of Miso
04. Bobbi’s Second World
05. Whilst The Flowers Look
06. The Square Eyed Pack
07. 7th Dynamic Goo
08. A Material Mistake
09. Euro Borealis
10. Space Samba (Disco Volador Theme)


Tags: The Orielles

Soft Riot Announces New LP 'When Push Comes To Shove', Stream "Taking Off The Edge"

Glasgow-based synth pop/electronic/minimal/dark wave musician JJD aka Soft Riot has announced the release of his seventh studio album 'When Push Comes To Shove'.

The follow-up to 2018's The Outsider In The Mirrors, was recorded and mixed by JJD in sessions from June 2018 until May 2019 at Studio 75 and Studio Carillon in Glasgow. It will be out in November 11 through Possession Records. Get your copy here.

Resonating with references from all corners of the synthpop’s origins (DAF, Fad Gadget and John Foxx to name a few), Soft Riot’s latest release nonetheless manages to retain its own individual voice, melding and reinterpreting its antecedents with a personal twist and an impressive demonstration of synth-craft and programming. Following on from 2018’s The Outsider in the Mirrors, these ten tracks represent a change in themes and an evolution in production and sound.

The forthcoming single and album opener "Taking The Edge Off" sets out the Soft Riot manifesto, a propulsive future-synth tale of forging ever-forwards in an increasingly noisy world. "It's No Laughing Matter" is a hedonistic yet propulsive dance-floor slammer — shades of minimal synth and metallic Belgian new beat condense in side one closer "Fate’s Got A Bone To Pick With You" and the dizzying italo-matic muscle workout "Don’t Get Yourself Bent Out Of Shape" is the ultimate self-help smack down.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to his new single "Taking Off The Edge", below.

When Push Comes To Shove Tracklist:
01. Taking Off The Edge
02. It's No Laughing Matter
03. The Lost Weekend
04. Fate's Got A Bone To Pick With You
05. By The Skin Of Your Teeth
06. Don't Get Yourself Bent Out Of Shape
07. Heads Turn Around
08. Your Work Is Never Done

New Entry: Silque Unleash New Single "Venus"

Danish alt rock/pop band Silque have unleashed their new single "Venus."

The song is out now via We Are Suburban, and "it's an indie disco banger that brings you to the dancefloor in a weightless state. It's about letting go and saying yes to a collective state of bliss."

Get it here and stream it below.


Tags: Silque