Monday, June 09, 2014

The Rentals Announce Details Of New Album 'Lost In Alphaville'

Los Angeles alt-pop band The Rentals have announced full details of their new album (and their first in 15 years) 'Lost in Alphaville'.

The album, recorded with a line-up that features The Black Keys' Pat Carney, Lucius' Jesscia Wolfe and Holly Laessig, Ozma's Ryen Slegr, and The Section Quartet's Lauren Chipman, will be out on August 26 via Polyvinyl Records, and was mixed by renowned producer D. Sardy (Jay-Z, LCD Soundsystem). Pre-order yur copy here.

About the album, songwriter/lead vocalist Matt Sharp says: "If you can’t whip yourself up into a state of full-blown rapture while you’re creating, I don’t really see the point of making music. ... When I was working with Jess and Holly, for instance, I was fairly grounded in reality, but once I took their tracks back to my house I would loosen the reins to my sanity, crank the monitors so loud that all the instruments and voices would blissfully saturate together to a point where all of my delusional thoughts would just roller-skate off to Xanadu."

Ahead of the the full-length's release the band has premiered its lead single "Thought of Sound" which can be streamed below the tracklist. 

01. It's Time To Come Home
02. Traces Of Our Tears
03. Stardust
04. 1000 Seasons
05. Damaris
06. Irrational Things
07. Thought of Sound
08. Song Of Remembering
09. Seven Years
10. The Future


Watch: The Phoenix Foundation Air "Bob Lennon John Dylan" New Video

New Zealand indie rock/post punk band The Phoenix Foundation have aired the video for their latest single "Bob Lennon John Dylan".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their new EP Tom's Lunch , which came out last Friday (June 6) via Memphis Industries. Get your copy here.

The video was directed by Puck Murphy and Paul Freeman. Take a look below.