Thursday, January 29, 2015

Courtney Barnett Announces Debut Album 'Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit', Air "Pedestrian At Best"

Melbourne based singer/songwriter and guitarist, Courtney Barnett has announced the release of her debut album 'Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit'.

The follow-up to her 2013 release The Double EP: A Sea Of Split Peas, will be out on March 23 trough Mom + Pop Records, and was recorded at Melbourne's Head Gap Studio last year, and features Dan Luscombe on guitar, Bones Sloane on bass and Dave Mudie on drums. Pre-order your copy here.

Barnett has also aired the video for the LP's first and infectious single "Pedestrian At Best".

Check out the album's tracklist and the video for "Pedestrian At Best", below.

01. Elevator Operator
02. Pedestrian at Best
03. An Illustration of Loneliness (Sleepless in NY)
04. Small Poppies
05. Depreston
06. Aqua Profunda!
07. Dead Fox
08. Nobody Really Cares if You Don’t Go to the Party
09. Debbie Downer
10. Kim’s Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

Watch: Syd Kemp Release 12-Minute Video For "The Horror" & "Marble"

London based psychedelic/experimental band SYD KEMP (the side-project from Neils Children bass player Syd Kemp), have released a twelve-minute video for their tracks "The Horror" and "Marble". 

The songs are the second and fourth track, respectively, from the band's debut EP 'The Horror', which was released in June last year through Structurally Sound. Get it for free here.

The video was directed by Pierre Bouvier Patron. Watch it below.

Watch: Crushed Beaks Unleash New Video For "Overgrown"

London noise pop band Crushed Beaks have unleashed the video for their latest single "Overgrown".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their upcoming debut album 'Scatter', which will be released on February 9 through their own label Matilda Recordings. Pre-order your copy here.

The video was directed by the band's long-time collaborator Jonny Sanders. Take a look below.


Tags: Crushed Beaks

Watch: Pins Premiere Teaser Video For Second Album

Manchester post punk, noir pop four-piece PINS have premiered a teaser video for the follow-up to their critically acclaimed debut album 'Girls Like Us'.

Speaking about the new album, singer/guitarist Faith Vern said: 

"We recorded our second album under the desert sky in Joshua Tree at Rancho De La Luna, with Dave Catching on hand like some sort of guru guiding us, and we were able to make a record that we couldn't be more proud of. We will be performing a live preview of the record in February and, of course, we have a few tricks up our sleeves to make the shows extra special."

According to the video, the album will arrive in June. Check out the teaser below.

New Entry: Two Cartoons Air New Single "Lost Boys Club"

New Zealand (London based) indie alternative pop duo Two Cartoons (aka Bradley Craig and Isaac McFarlane) have aired "Lost Boys Club", the title track of their forthcoming EP.

The band have previously revealed their track "Horizon Approaching", which also features on the EP, set for release in March.

Have a listen to the track below.


Lower Dens Announce New Album Escape From Evil, Air "To Die in L.A"

Baltimore experimental pop band Lower Dens have announced plans to release their third studio album titled 'Escape From Evil', on March 31 via Ribbon Music.

The album was produced by lead singer Jana Hunter and Chris Coady (Beach House, Smith Westerns, Wavves, Rey Pila) and additional production on select tracks was provided by Ariel Rechtshaid and John Congleton as well.

The follow up to 2012's 'Nootropics', sees Hunter take center stage with her vivid, full voice, creating an almost magnetic pull on the ears. On this album Hunter propels the Baltimore band to emerge: creating a cinematic and tonally rich work. The album is bold, defined and more assertive than anything they've done before.

Lower Dens has also aired the album's first single "To Die in L.A". Pre-order here and receive an instant download of the single.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "To Die in L.A" below.

01. Sucker’s Shangri-La
02. Ondine
03. To Die in L.A.
04. Quo Vadis
05. Your Heart Still Beating
06. Electric Current
07. I Am The Earth
08. Company
09. Société Anonyme

Watch: Menace Beach Drop "Tastes Like Medicine" Music Video

Leeds noise-pop duo Menace Beach have dropped the video for their current single "Tastes Like Medicine".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their recently released (January 19) debut LP 'Ratworld', available via Memphis Industries. Get the album here.

The video was directed by Tom Hudson (of Pulled Apart By Horses), who also directed thier video for "Tennis Court". Watch it below.