Tuesday, July 13, 2021

New Entry: Thee Hearses Share New Track "It Came from Planet X"

US dance punk/new wave/synth punk Thee Hearses have shared their addictive new track "It Came from Planet X".

The song is taken from their self-titled EP, out today (July 13). Get it copy here.

Stream it below.

Watch: Wolf Alice Release "The Beach II" Music Video

London indie rock/alt four-piece Wolf Alice have released the video for "The Beach II".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their third studio album ‘Blue Weekend’, released last month (June 4th) via Dirty Hit. Get your copy here.

Watch the video below, it was directed by Jordan Hemingway.

Tags: Wolf Alice

Watch: The Rare Occasions Drop Music Video For "Origami"

L.A-based indie rock/post-prog band The Rare Occasions have dropped the video for their latest single "Origami".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their sophomore album 'Big Whoop', released last month (June 18). Get your copy here ir you haven't already.

On working with the director of the video, the band says, "With many possible interpretations of the song, Chelsea’s take was unique in that it incorporated scenes of clouded consciousness and an overcoming of toxic masculinity. It is a journey, both lyrically and sonically, so naturally we built origami-style paper animal masks to visually reflect the character’s growth from start to finish. Our previous experience of working with Chelsea on the music video for “Stay” made the making of this video really fun and experimental, and it was great having her on board for another project.” 

Watch it below.


Tags: The Rare Occasions

New Entry: Grace Vonderkuhn Drop New Single "Rock & Roll Gary"

Delaware indie rock/garage/glam rock band Grace Vonderkuhn have dropped their new single "Rock & Roll Gary".

The song is taken from their upcoming sophomore album 'Pleasure Pain', which will be available on August 13th through Sheer Luck Records. Pre-order your copy here.

'Pleasure Pain' is punchy and powerful, a shredding, caterwauling kick to the guts that’s infinitely listenable. Written during a period of awakening in guitarist/vocalist Grace Koon’s life, the album’s ten tracks burst with her masterful guitar playing, throaty vocals and surging choruses. Themes of duality, balance and self-awareness are apparent both in the lyrics and the music throughout the record. 

"Rock & Roll Gary is a ripper. We have to chug water after we play it. Please enjoy." – Grace

Take a listen below.

New Entry: Roxy Girls Reveal New Single "Sister Fatima"

Sunderland post punk/art punk 4-piece Roxy Girls have revealed  their new single "Sister Fatima".

The song,  written in homage to their late dearly beloved Hamster "Fatty",  is taken from their new EP ‘Roxy Girls Are In The Drink’, which will be out on 27th August via Moshi Moshi Records. Get it here.

Influenced in part by albums like XTC’s “Drums and Wires”, the EP sees the band build on their unique and idiosyncratic take on the post-punk format, with crisp polyrhythmic guitar lines that interweave with one another, whilst placing more emphasis on the dynamics led by the drums and bass. It still conveys the same breathless intensity that Roxy Girls have been lauded for in the past, but not at the expense of the band moving towards warmer, more melodically driven songwriting.

Stream it below.

Roxy Girls Are In The Drink EP Tracklisting:
1. Like A Buoy
2. Sister Fatima
3. In The Drink
4. My New Home

Watch: Cuffed Up Unleash New Single "Canaries"

Los Angeles, CA indie-punk/post punk band Cuffed Up have unleashed their new single "Canaries".

The song is out today (July 13) through Royal Mountain Records. Get it here.

Cuffed Up was formed thru a chance encounter where Sapphire Jewell and Ralph Torrefranca first met, connecting about their love for the UK punk scene with bands like IDLES and Shame. A few months later, Cuffed Up was formed along with Joe Liptock and Vic Ordonez.

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Cuffed Up

Xeno & Oaklander Announce New LP 'Vi/deo', Stream "Infinite Sadness"

Brooklyn's minimal/electronic/synth wave duo Xeno & Oaklander (aka Miss Liz Wendelbo and Sean McBride) have announced the release of their seventh studio album 'Vi/deo'.

The follow-up to 2019's  Hypnos, will be out on October 22nd via Dais Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Vi/deo further distills their iconic noir synth pop into a streamlined suite of gleaming, graceful retrofuturism. Inspired by ideas of synesthesia, scent, star worship, and obsolescent technologies, the duo of Liz Wendelbo and Sean McBride began conceiving the blueprint of Vi/deo while sequestered at their Southern Connecticut home studio during the pandemic. 

The context of isolation, streaming, and remote dreaming seeped into their chemistry, manifesting as both homage to and meditation on a certain cinematic strain of technicolor fantasy: the screen as stage, distance disguised as intimacy, where tragedy and glamor crossfade into one.

Opening with the precision synthetic melancholy of “Infinite Sadness,” the album marks a peak fluidity between the pair’s fusion of analog electronics and poetic melody, both refined and oblique, classic but contemporary. 

Vi/deo captures the bittersweet beauty of youth and utopias, the wistful transformation from miracle to memory, where love turns unreal and music becomes myth: “Sounds of the underground / Will echo in future days / Feelings of misery / Will fade into the haze

Check out the album's tracklist and watch a lyric video for "Infinite Sadness", below.

Vi/deo tracklist:
01. Infinite Sadness
02. Poison
03. Afar
04. Technicolor
05. Television
06. Gain
07. Movie Star
08. Raingarden

Watch: Shadows and Mirrors Unveil "Judas 21" Music Video

Rockford, Illinois post punk/electronic/synthpunk band Shadows and Mirrors have aired the video for their latest single "Judas 21".

The song is taken from their new album 'Clones', released last Friday (July 9) through Electric Dream Records. Get your copy here.

Watch the video below.

New Entry: Treeboy & Arc Share New Single "Role Models"

Leeds-based post-punk/alt fuzz band Treeboy & Arc have shared their new single "Role Models".

The song is taken from their upcoming new EP 'Life Preserver', set to be released on 6th August. Pre-order your copy here.

Take a listen below.


Tags: Treboy & Arc