Wednesday, July 24, 2019

New Entry: Priestgate Unveil New Single "Summ(air)"

East Yorkshire dream-punk quintet Priestgate have unveiled their catchy new single "Summ(air)".

About the song, they said:“We wanted to write a song that epitomises the feeling of nostalgia when the sun comes and goes in a Great British Summer”.

UPDATE 29/07/2019: "Summ(air)" is our new Single of the Week!

The band share inspirations from artists such as Beach Fossils, DIIV and The Cure.

Grab it here and stream it below.


Tags: Priestgate

New Entry: Crushed Beaks Unleash New Single "Right Machine"

London noise pop/punk band Crushed Beaks have unleashed their excellent new single "Right Machine".

The song is taken from the upcoming new album 'The Other Room', which will be released on 9th August through Clue Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Take a listen below.


Tags: Crushed Beaks

808 State Announce New LP 'Transmission Suite', Air "Tokyo Tokyo"

Manchester acid house and electronic legends 808 State have announced the release of their new album 'Transmission Suite', their first in 17 years.

The 15-track album will be out out on October 11th, and was recorded in Granada’s former home. “The space the band used to record hadn’t been cleared out for what seemed like decades and was full of now defunct technology: a teleprinter, teletext stuff, boxes of floppy discs,” a statement announcing the album reads.

Outpost Transmission, the last original material from the band, came out in 2002. 808 State music has appeared since then in the form of remixes and the occasional edit and the band have continued to play live, but it wasn’t until last year that  decided to reconvene with a view to working on a significant new tranche of material. “We’re trying to make a future for other people to immerse themselves in” says Graham of the new material. “It feels a bit like an imaginary landscape. That’s always been a big part of 808 State, when you go back through the music: these kind of landscapes of futurism.”

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklist and watch the video for lead track "Tokyo Tokyo", below.

Transmission Suite Tracklist:
01. Tokyo Tokyo
02. Skylon
03. Cannonball Waltz
04. The Ludwig Question
05. Huronic
06. Landau
07. Westland
08. Trinity
09. Ujala
10. Carbonade
11. Pulcenta
12. Angol Angol
13. Bushy Bushy
14. 13 13
15. Crab Claw


Tags: 808 State

Watch: Hibou Shares "An Hour Of Vision" Music Video

Seattle indie pop/jangle pop artist Peter Michel aka Hibou has shared the video for "An Hour Of Vision".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from his third studio album 'Halve', out this Friday (July 26th) via Barsuk Records. Pre-order it here.

The video was directed by Ryan Zemke. Watch below.

DIIV Announce New LP 'Deceiver', Stream "Skin Game"

New York haze pop/dream pop band DIIV have announced the release of their third studio album album 'Deceiver'.

The follow-up to 2016's Is The Is Are, was recorded Deceiver in March 2019 in Los Angeles with producer Sonny Diperri (who has worked with My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails and Protomartyr), and will be out on October 4 via Captured Tracks. Pre-order your copy here.

The record is described as “the soundtrack to personal resurrection under the heavy weight of metallic catharsis, upheld by robust guitars and vocal tension that almost snaps, but never quite.”

The band have also shared their new single “Skin Game”, speaking about it, the band’s lead vocalist and guitarist Zachary Cole Smith, said:

It’s an imaginary dialogue between two characters, which could either be myself or people I know. I spent six months in several different rehab facilities at the beginning of 2017. I was living with other addicts. Being a recovering addict myself, there are a lot of questions like, “Who are we? What is this disease?” Our last record was about recovery in general, but I truthfully didn’t buy in. I decided to live in my disease instead. “Skin Game” looks at where the pain comes from. I’m looking at the personal, physical, emotional, and broader political experiences feeding into the cycle of addiction for millions of us.

Check out the album's tracklist and stream the new single below.

Deceiver Track Listing
01. Horsehead
02. Like Before You Were Born
03. Skin Game
04. Between Tides
05. Taker
06. For the Guilty
07. The Spark
08. Lorelei
09. Blankenship
10. Acheron


Tags: DIIV

Watch: Walt Disco Premiere New Single/Video "Past Tense"

Glasgow post punk band Walt Disco have premiered the video for their brand new single "Past Tense".

The song follows the their explosive, moody goth anthem “Strange to Know Nothing,” and is out now via IHC 1NFINITY.

Recorded at Glasgow’s Chem19 studio, home of seminal Scottish indie label Chemikal Underground (Mogwai, Arab Strap), the track was completed on a day off during the band’s busy touring schedule. The cinematic track sees vocalist James Potter’s soaring vocals sit atop a solid Blue Nile-esque groove which oozes grandeur - this is Walt Disco at both their most epic and most vulnerable.

About the video: How do you say goodbye to someone you love? The video for Walt Disco’s ‘Past Tense’ deals with coming to terms with the death of a friend. The story opens with Blaire, a twenty-something goth, at the gravestone of her recently deceased boyfriend, Drazen. As she awakens, a black balloon visits her and she attaches herself to it as a representation of her loved one. Over the course of the video, she lives her life as she would have with Drazen, oblivious to the balloon’s impact on the world around her. Eventually she’s forced to come to terms with the reality of her situation and let go.

Watch below.


Tags: Walt Disco

Watch: Metronomy Release New Single/Video "Walking In The Dark"

British indie dance band Metronomy have released the video for their new single "Walking In The Dark".

The song is taken from the forthcoming new album 'Metronomy Forever', set to arrive on September 13th via Because Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Check out the album's tracklist and the video for below.

Watch: Memes Air Music Video For New Single "Happy Shopper"

Glasgow noisy post-punk duo Memes (aka John McLinden and Paul McLinden) have aired the video for their new single "Happy Shopper".

It is the duo's second single, they formed in February 2019, and their debut single ‘Blah Blah Blah’ earned Memes a regular radio airplay and multiple blog write-ups and reviews. The song will be out on August 15.

Watch the video below.


Tags: Memes

Watch: THE S.L.P. Reveals Music Video For "Nobody Else"

THE S.L.P., the solo project of Kasabian's Serge Lorenzo Pizzorno, has revealed the video for his latest single "Nobody Else".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from the upcoming album 'THE S.L.P.', set to arrive on August 30. Pre-order your copy here.

The video was directed by Jamie Whitby. Check out below.


Watch: The S.L.P.

Watch: Actors Drop Visuals For "Mining For Heart" (The Sound Cover)

Canadian cold wave/post-punk/synth pop band Actors have dropped visuals for their cover version of The Sound's 1985 song "Mining For Heart".

Jason Corbett had to say about making the track: “We had come home from our first tour supporting our debut record and had been listening to a lot of The Sound. We hit the studio and recorded our cover of Mining For Heart. The original is so beautiful and rich. We wanted to share some of that beauty.”

Grab the cover here if you haven't already, and watch the video below.


Tags: Actors

New Entry: Adwaith Unleash New Single "Hey"

Carmarthen post rock/post punk band Adwaith have unleashed their new single "Hey".

The single will be out on July 26 via Libertino Records.

According to the band: “Hey! is a song about people ignoring obvious facts that are right in front of them. Global leaders are not acting upon climate change and they can’t ignore it for much longer!!”

Stream it below.


Tags: Adwaith