Monday, May 15, 2017

OMD Announce New LP 'The Punishment of Luxury', Share "La Mitrailleuse"

UK synthpop band OMD (Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark) have announce the release of their 13th studio album titled 'Punishment of Luxury'.

The follow-up to 2013’s English Electric, "sees the band combine traces of their previous work while experimenting with new technology," and will be out on September 1st via White Noise Records..

The 12 track album was written, recorded, produced and mixed by OMD – Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys – and is the sound of a band in their prime. ‘On this album we have managed to make beautiful things out of noises and repetitive patterns’, explains Andy. ‘The trouble is, we just cant help but write a catchy melody!’

The album takes its name from an 1891 painting by the Italian Giovani Segantini and contains everything from the Kraftwerkian ‘Isotype’ and ‘Robot Man’ to the blue eyed soul ballads of ‘One More Time’ and ‘The View From Here’ as well as more traditional OMD songs like ‘Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang’ and the synth heavy title track.

The band have also shared the video for their new single “La Mitrailleuse.”

Watch the tracklist and the video below.

‘Punishment Of Luxury’ Tracklisting:
01. The Punishment of Luxury
02. Isotype
03. Robot Man
04. What Have We Done
05. Precision & Decay
06. As We Open, So We Close
07. Art Eats Art
08. Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang
09. One More Time
10. La Mitrailleuse
11. Ghost Star
12.The View From Here