Wednesday, March 24, 2021

New Entry: Small Black Unveil New Single "Driftwood Fire"

Brooklyn-based chillwave/indie pop band Small Black have unveiled their new single "Driftwood Fire".

The song is taken from their forthcoming new album 'Cheap Dreams', set to arrive on April 9th on 100% Electronica. Pre-order your copy here.

Stream it below

New Entry: Eades Share New Single "Present In The Moment"

Leeds garage rock/new wave//post-punk band Eades have unleashed their new single "Present In The Moment".

The song is out today (March 24) and is taken from their upcoming sophomore EP 'Abstract Education', which will be out on April 30th via Heist or Hit. Get it here.

Speaking about it, vocalist Harry Jordan says, “I was away on holiday with my girlfriend in Australia for 3 weeks, and by the last week I was itching to get back and write some music. When I haven’t done any music in a while I go a bit stir crazy and start getting really agitated and go off into my own little world inside my head. I wrote the lyrics just after we’d had an argument because apparently I wasn’t “present in the moment”… I hate to admit it but she was probably right. I swear I’m not normally that angsty.”

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Eades

Watch: Autogramm Air New Single/Video "Anxiety"

Vancouver power pop trio Autogramm have aired the video for their new single "Anxiety".

The song is taken from their forthcoming sophomore album 'No Rules', which will be available on April 16th through Nevado Records. 

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Autogramm

Snapped Ankles Announce New LP 'Forest Of Your Problems', Stream "Rhythm Is Our Business"

East London art wave/post punk/krautrock band Snapped Ankles have announced the release of their third studio album 'Forest Of Your Problems'.

The follow-up to 2018's record Stunning Luxury, will be out on 2 July via The Leaf Label. Pre-order your copy here.

Snapped Ankles return to the forest, but it’s not as they left it. Trees planted in neat rows. A well-ordered monoculture with access roads and heavy machinery. The smell of greenwashed money in the air. There’s no sign of the ancient woodland they emerged from on debut album, Come Play The Trees. And it’s far cry from the gentrified East London they found themselves hawking on Stunning Luxury. All is not well in the face of progress. Welcome to the Forest Of Your Problems.

Even among the famously close-knit woodwose community there are factions forming. Meet The Business Imp, The Cornucopian, The Nemophile and The Protester. Each with their own motivations and belief systems. Their own sense of injustice: contradictions, anxieties and guilt.

Forest Of Your Problems runs the gamut of modern woodwose emotions. In this neat human approximation of the forest, it’s an increasingly knotted affair. Despite all of this, Snapped Ankles haven’t lost their innate ability to make you want to move your feet - their Teutonic forest rhythms are still shot through with post-punk lightning.

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for their latest single "Rhythm Is Our Business", below.

Forest Of Your Problems Tracklist:
01. Forest Of Your Problems
02. The Evidence
03. Shifting Basslines Of The Cornucopians
04. Undilated Lovers
05. Susurrations (In The Forest)
06. Rhythm Is Our Business 04:28
07. Psithurhythm
08. The Prince Is Back
09. Xylophobia
10. Forest Of Your Problems (Outro)


Tags: Snapped Ankles

New Entry: Metronomy Release "The Look (MGMT remix)"

British indie dance/electronic band Metronomy have released the MGMT remix of their song "The Look".

The remix is released in celebration of the upcoming 10-year anniversary of the band’s album The English Riviera, out on April 30 via Because Music with six previously unreleased tracks. Get your copy here.

About writing ‘The Look’, Joe says that he “came up with the bit that gets stuck in your head; the der-de-der-der bit. I played around with it a little, hit a wall and thought ‘it’s not really Metronomy, is it’. Four months later, we finished recording The Look at the Smokehouse in London. We quite liked it, but that was about it. Then I distinctly remember the journalist Dave Simpson asking me about the song after we performed it for the first time at the Leeds Cockpit in January 2011. That was probably the moment I realised it had something about it. I still don’t know precisely what that something is, but when we perform The Look live and I hear thousands of people chanting the bit that gets stuck in your head back at me, der-de-der-der, it often brings a tear to my eye. It really is amazing what that seaside song and this whole album has done for Metronomy.” 

Stream it below.

Watch: Hooveriii Reveal New Single/Video "Erasure"

Los Angeles psychedelic/space rock band Hooveriii have revealedd the video for their new single "Erasure".

The song is taken from their forthcoming sophomore album 'Water For The Frogs', which will be available on April 9 through The Reverberation Appreciation Society label. Pre-order your copy here.

Of “Erasure” Hooveriii note “Maybe the most sonically aggressive jam on the LP, Erasure is also the only love song. Originally demoed in a more straightforward fashion, but when Shaughnessy added the rhythmic toms it became more of a war chant. Big primitive energy, much like the destructive nature of love. The song also features wicked dueling sax and war cries from Gabe Flores & Gabe Salomón.” “The idea of the video - which is a mix of live action and stop motion - came from the director, Owen Summers.” They continue. “We wanted to make it feel like an episode of Star Trek or any sort of sci-fi B-movie.”

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Hooveriii

Watch: Field Music Drop New Single/Video "Not When You're In Love"

Sunderland, UK indie rock/art pop band Field Music have dropped the video for their new single "Not When You're In Love".

The song is taken from their upcoming eighth studio album 'Flat White Moon', which will be out on April 23 via Memphis Industries. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch/listen below.

Watch: Kaputt Unleash New Single/Video "Movement Now"

Glasgow post-punk band Kaputt have unleashed the video for their new single "Movement Now".

The 7" ‘Movement Now/Another War Talk’ will be out on May 14th. via Upset The Rhythm. Pre-order your copy here.

The band's 2019 debut album Carnage Hall, confidently deconstructed themes of surveillance, paranoia, and cultural identity through a sonic lens of high-tempo, bright, danceable pop hooks and technical, polyphonic rhythms which border on the bombast of Zeuhl. 

‘Movement Now/Another War Talk’ continues the synthesis of animation and discontent with an ethos that exemplifies post-punk’s most original and guiding purpose: casting aside the rigid, signifying fashions of modern performative genre tropes and instead combining a vast fluidity of influence, tone and style to create something as unique and personal as it is counter-cultural. The result is a release that responds to the apathy of our current situation with a positive thesis, breathing life into the lived-in, bursting through every vessel, leaving nothing unturned. 

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Kaputt

Watch: The Fantastic Plastics Unveil "Freedom of Choice" (DEVO cover)

NYC sci-fi punk/neo-new wave duo The Fantastic Plastics (aka Miranda and Tyson Plastic) have unveiled a video performing their cover version of DEVO's classic "Freedom of Choice".

Watch/listen below.


Tags: The Fantastic Plastics