Tuesday, June 11, 2013

The Chameleons To Reissue 'Why Call It Anything', Release New Rarities Set

The Chameleons will reissue their 2001's album 'Why Call It Anything' and will also release a brand new compilation called 'Dreams in Celluloid' featuring demos and early studio takes with the rare Tony Fletcher Walked on Water.... La La La La La-La La-La-La EP.

Both two-disc sets will be released next Monday via Blue Apple Music.

The reissue of 'Why Call It Anything' will be accompanied by the now-deleted 13-track Live at the Academy CD, which was recorded at the Manchester Academy in 2001, and features tracks off the album and earlier material.

'The Dreams in Celluloid' set features a disc with 13 demos and early studio takes dating back to the beginning of The Chameleons' career, including songs such as "Fan and the Bellows," “Dali’s Picture” and “Everyday I’m Crucified” that never made it onto the band’s studio albums. 

The second disc of Dreams in Celluloid features the full four-track Tony Fletcher EP, recorded in 1987 during sessions for a follow-up to Strange Days. The band broke up just days after the recordings were made, although they eventually were released posthumously in 1990.

All of the material was newly remastered this past spring.

See full tracklists below.

Tracklist: The Chameleons, Why Call It Anything: Collectors’ Edition
CD 1: Original Album
01. Shades
02. Anyone Alive?
03. Indiana
04. Lufthansa
05. Truth Isn’t Truth Anymore
06. All Around
07. Dangerous Land
08. Music In The Womb
09. Miracles and Wonders
10. Are You Still There?

CD 2: Live at the Academy
01. A Person Isn’t Safe Anywhere These Days
02. Perfume Garden
03. Anyone Alive?
04. Indiana
05. Caution
06. Swamp Thing
07. Lufthansa
08. Dangerous Land
09. Up The Down Escalator
10. Miracles and Wonders
11. Shades
12. Monkeyland
13. Second Skin

Tracklist: The Chameleons, Dreams in Celluloid: A Collection of Rare Recordings

CD 1: Demos and Early Studio Takes
01. The Fan and The Bellows
02. Dali’s Picture
03. Everyday I’m Crucified
04. Looking Inwardly
05. Nostalgia
06. Turn To Vices
07. Love Is
08. Nathan’s Phase
09. Dreams In Celluloid
10. Things I Wish I’d Said
11. Less Than Human
12. In Shreds
13. Prisoners of the Sun

CD 2: Tony Fletcher EP
01. Is It Any Wonder
02. Free For All
03. The Healer
04. Denims And Curls

Pre-order here.

Watch: Childhood Unveil Music Video For "Solemn Skies"

British Band Childhood have unveiled the video for their catchy new single "Solemn Skies" available now via iTunes. The song is part of our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com.

The video was directed by Tabitha Denholm. Watch it below.

"Solemn Skies" / "Semester" is out now via House Anxiety / Marathon Artists.

Washed Out Releases "It All Feels Right" Lyric Video

American producer Ernest Greene chillwave project Washed Out, has released a lyric video for "It All Feels Right", the first single taken from their upcoming sophomore album 'Paracosm' out on August 13 through Sub Pop. 

Check out the video directed by Mad Decent below.

Watch: Imperial Teen Share "No Matter What You Say" Music Video

San Francisco-based  indie pop band Imperial Teen have shared the video for "No Matter What You Say", taken from their 2012 album 'Feel the Sound' out via on Merge Records. The song is part of our current playlist www.koolrockradio.com.

The video was made in Australia by the dynamic directing duo, Guy Franklin and John Gavin. Starring Australian actress Emily Browning. Watch it below.

Watch: Hook & The Twin Unveil "That Was A Day" Music Video

Hook & The Twin, our current band of the month have unveiled the video for their latest single "That Was A Day", taken from their upcoming debut album 'Never Ever Ever' out on 24th June through Dancing Coins.

The single was released yesterday (June 10) and was featured as Single of the Week last week on Kool Rock Radio.

Check out  the video below.

Pre-order Never Ever Ever HERE.

Goldfrapp To Release New Album 'Tales Of Us' In September

Electronic duo Goldfrapp have announced they will release their brand new album titled 'Tales Of Us' on September 9 via Mute Records.

This is the pair sixth album and the follow-up to 2010's Head First. Information on their website tells that the band have "taken a turn for the noir" and are pursuing a more acoustic direction, with Alison Goldfrapp saying: “I'm drawn more and more to the intimacy and simplicity of the voice & guitar.”

“When you’re relaxed and confident you can excavate places you may not have dared go before [...] I am interested in horror, psychologically. Not blood and guts. That’s too literal. I like the horror of the mind.” She adds.


01. Jo
02. Annabel
03. Drew
04. Ulla
05. Alvar
06. Thea
07. Simone
08. Stranger
09. Laurel
10 Clay

The duo have also revealed a teaser trailer. Watch it below.

Pre-order Goldfrapp's new album here.