Wednesday, October 14, 2020

Maximo Park Announce New LP 'Nature Always Wins', Stream "Baby, Sleep"

Newcastle indie rock band Maximo Park have album announced the release of their seventh studio album 'Nature Always Wins'.

The follow-up to 2017's Risk to Exist, was produced by Grammy-winning producer Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Deerhunter), and recorded during lockdown in Newcastle, Liverpool and Atlanta. It will be out on 26th February 2021. Pre-order your copy here.

Nature Always Wins arrives as something of an examination, zeroing in on the notion of the self, identity as a band, and that of humanity as a whole. 

The title nods to the famous Nature vs Nurture debate. Discussing whether change is capable under the influence of time, perspective, environment or if we are destined to be bound by our own genetics, it asks, “who are we, and who do we want to be, and do we have any control over it?”.

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for their new single "Baby, Sleep".

Nature Always Wins Tracklisting:
01. Partly Of My Making
02. Versions Of You
03. Baby, Sleep
04. Placeholder
05. All Of Me
06. Ardour (feat. Pauline Murray)
07. Meeting Up
08. Why Must A Building Burn?
09. I Don't Know What I'm Doing
10. The Acid Remark
11. Feelings I'm Supposed To Feel
12. Child Of The Flatlands

Watch: Big Wild Releases New Single/Video "Who Do You Believe"

Portland electronic/dance/pop artist Big Wild (aka Jackson Stell) has released the video for his brand new single Who Do You Believe".

The song is out today via Counter Records, and is "an urgent question that producer, songwriter and vocalist Jackson Stell poses to his listeners ahead of the 2020 US election." Get it here.

Through an enthralling arrangement of arpeggiated synths, undulating guitar, rising walls of bass, drums and hypnotic vocals, “shouting at the screen,” Big Wild captures the hysteria of false narratives, misinformation and biased agendas disseminated by mass media during an unparalleled, divisive point in history. In both the song and its striking music video, Stell envisions a future in which we leave blind faith behind and build a culture driven by individual critical thought, bereft of propagated falsehoods and indoctrination.

Not only does Stell present a new sense of personal audacity to his listenership, he also unveils yet another facet of his stylistic versatility, as his psychedelic, mesmeric vocals and neo-pop production, reminiscent of a new-age Tame Impala, furthers him as the next alternative artist to watch.

To accompany the electric single, Big Wild revealed a bold visual, societal commentary in tandem, centered around the crucial pursuit of truth amid polarization and partisanship.

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Big Wild

Psychedelic Porn Crumpets Announce New LP 'SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound', Stream "Tally-Ho"

Australian psych/grunge/rock band Psychedelic Porn Crumpets have announced the release of their new album  'SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound'.

The follow-up to 2019’s LP And Now For The Whatchamacallit, will be out on February 5th 2021. Pre-order your copy here.

Psychedelic Porn Crumpets have used their time off road to continue preparing themselves for the release of their fourth studio release, and an eventual blistering return to stages around the world with a heavy-hitter of an album primed for the live space.

We have already heard their album's first single ‘Mr. Prism’ in August, now the band have shared their new track "Tally-Ho".

The creation of SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound, came together in a different environment for McEwan and the results speak to the band’s evolution and McEwan’s evolution as a songwriter.

“For the first time in a long time I was home without any tours booked, no work, no deadlines and I felt free to create. My writing process became ritualistic; every morning starting with a small walk to the local bottle shop at 11am and writing whatever flowed, allowing myself to design in all styles without boundaries, and not trying to theme the album early on. I haven’t had the luxury of writing this way since the first record, which I spent almost a year working on. It felt like I was myself again, creating without opinion or constraints. I was gliding through weeks with a day seeming to pass.”\

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "Tally-Ho" below.

SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound Tracklisting:
01. Big Dijon
02. Tally Ho
03. Sawtooth Monkfish
04. Tripolasaur
06. The Terrors
07. Hats Off to the Green Bins
08. Glitter Bug
09. More Glitter
10. Pukebox
11. Mundungus
12. Mango Terrarium
13. Round the Corner
14. The Tale of Gurney Gridman


Tags: Psychedelic Porn Crumpets

Watch: Django Django Reveal "Spirals (MGMT Remix)"

British indie/art rock band Django Django have dropped visuals for the MGMT Remix of their latest single "Spirals".

The remix is out today (October 12) through Because Music. Grab it here.

Watch/listen below.

Tags: Django Django

New Entry: Panther Modern Drops New Single "A Thousand Dreams Goodbye"

Panther Modern, the solo project of Brady Keehn (formerly of Los Angeles duo Sextile), has dropped his new single "A Thousand Dreams Goodbye".

The song is out today (October 14). Grab it here.

Take a listen below.


Tags: Panther Modern

Watch: Soft Kill Unleash New Single/Video "Pretty Face"

Portland, OR post punk/dark wave band Soft Kill have unleashed the video for their new single "Pretty Face".

The song is taken from their forthcoming new album 'Dead Kids, R.I.P. City', which will be out on  November 20th via Cercle Social Records. Pre-order your copy here.

UPDATE 19/10/2020: "Pretty Face" is our new Single of the Week!

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Soft Kill