Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Watch: Riki Shares New Single/Video "Earth Song"

L.A based synth pop/post punk/new wave artist Riki, commandeered by the mysterious Niff Nawor, a visual artist and musician active in the deathrock / anarcho-punk scenes of the California bay area (formerly a member of Crimson Scarlet), has shared the video for her new single "Earth Song".

The song is taken from her upcoming self-titled debut album, out on February 14 through Dais Records. Pre-order your copy here.

For her self-titled debut album for Dais, Riki explores courage, physicality, and romance across eight timeless synth pop anthems. Produced and engineered by hardware-based synthesist Matia Simovich of INHALT, influences and ideas are worn proudly without deviating from fresh and daring electro-pop territory.  Nostalgic cues can be heard ranging from Neue Deutsch Welle, early Adrian Sherwood productions, classic ZYX Italo Disco, Japanese Visual Kei and even classic new wave/pop like Pat Benatar, Kate Bush, and early Madonna.

Riki invites listeners to “reveal their useless habits of complacency and fear...and witness their own rebirth, a rhythm universal”

Watch/listen below.

The Slow Readers Club Announce New LP 'The Joy Of The Return', Stream "All I Hear"

Manchester-based indie electro/doom pop band The Slow Readers Club have announced the release of their fourth studio album 'The Joy Of The Return'.

The follow-up to 2018's Build A Tower, was recorded at Parr Street Studios in Liverpool and produced by long-standing collaborator Phil Bulleyment. It will be released on 20th March via Modern Sky UK. . Pre-order your copy here.

The 11-track record, marks a significant change in the band's process, with their extensive touring allowing them time to write and develop tracks and arrangements through soundchecks and back-of-van jams.

"I think it's definitely our most interesting and accomplished record musically," says singer Aaron Starkie. "Lyrically the album covers love, alienation, the rise of right wing populism and comments on algorithm driven propaganda. And as always, I try to deliver those lyrics with uplifting melody."

The band have also shared their the single "All I Hear", which according to singer Aaron Starkie "is about a lack of agency and an inability to affect change. That there's something happening, and you have no choice but to go along with it." 

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to 'All I Hear' below.

The Joy Of The Return Tracklist:
01. All I Hear
02. Something Missing
03. Problem Child
04. Jericho
05. No Surprise
06. Paris
07. Killing Me
08. All The Idols
09. Every Word
10. The Zero Hour
11. The Wait


Tags: The Slow Readers Club