Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Watch: Strange Names Unveil New Video For "Potential Wife"

Minneapolis-based indie pop duo Strange Names, comprised of Brooklyn native Liam Benzvi and Minneapolite Francis Jimenez, have unveiled the video for "Potential Wife", taken from their forthcoming eponymous EP released on September 30th via Minor Times Records. 

The 4-song EP was originally released in the U.S. back in September 2012 and followed the duo's debut single 'Minor Times / Once An Ocean', and the Bandcamp released 'Five Songs' EP.

The video was shot, directed and edited by the duo. Watch it below.

Website: strangenamesmusic.com

Watch: Foxygen Share "We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic" Video

Los Angeles-based  psych duo Foxygen have shared the video for "We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic", taken from their 2013's album of the same name, out via Jagjaguwar. The song is part of our current playlist.

The video, directed by William Doyle and filmed in the Calvary Cemetery in Queens, sees frontman Sam France wandering around a graveyard in between a barrage of uber psychedelic imagery, ranging from flashes of strobe lights and colored blotches to a school of neon-colored fish no doubt on their way to devour babies.

Watch it below.

Watch: ADULT. Release Music Video For "Tonight We Fall"

Detroit's electro-punk duo ADULT. (aka husband/wife Nicola Kuperus and Adam Lee Miller), have released the video for "Tonight We Fall",  the infectious second single taken from their latest album 'The Way Things Fall', out via Ghostly international. 

The song is part of our current playlist, and it "might just be the most 'catchy' song the band has ever written in their career, reminiscent of Ric Ocasek's The Cars if they were into leather jackets and industrial sounds. In other words, mutant pop."

Like most of ADULT.'s other visual output, they made this clip entirely themselves, from figuring out the spooky special effects to the styling to the backdrops; the whole thing is shot in their amazingly gothy historic house in Detroit that they renovated all themselves. The concept was inspired by a series of photographs Kuperus created a few years back after seeing Jean Cocteau's 1930 film The Blood of the Poet. Like most of Kuperus' work, the video has no post-production and all effects were created "in camera."  

Check out the video below.

Watch: Hospital Reveal New Video For "Secret Place"

Russian indie rock/pop quartet Hospital have revealed the video for their summery track "Secret Place", taken from their debut album 'When The Trees Were Higher', released earlier this year. 

Hospital don't stick to one sound, they're not a formula band. 'Secret Place' is part of our current playlist, and contains traces of funk and 80s pop, but remains tastefully done.

Directed by Max Nikonov, the clip show the band having a fun time with friends on the beach. It is the band's first official video. Watch it below.

Watch: Steve Mason Share Music Video For "Fire!"

Former Beta Band leader Steve Mason has shared the video for "Fire!", taken from his second solo album Monkey Minds In The Devil's Time, released back in March via by Double Six.

Fire! will be released as a single through Domino on November 4th, and only as a download. 

Recorded with Dan Carey in his south London studio, Mason's second effort is saturated with politics. With a title referring to the Buddhist term for an easily distracted brain, it's an album that has been shaped by the current global political climate and the lack of dissenting voices in music and popular culture in general. 

In the clip, directed by Greg Davenport, the Scottish musician continues with the politicized slant that was present on the album. Watch it below.

The Killers To Release Greatest Hits Album 'Direct Hits' in November

Las Vegas indie rock band The Killers have announced they will release a greatest hits album tilted 'Direct Hits' in November 12.

The collection will be released in standard and deluxe editions, as well as a documentary DVD, and five 10" vinyl records, and compiles material from the band's four studio albums, featuring 'Mr Brightside', 'Somebody Told Me', a demo version of 'Mr Brightside', etc., along with brand new songs.

Check the full tracklist below:

01. Mr. Brightside
02. Somebody Told Me
03. Smile Like You Mean It
04. All These Things That I’ve Done
05. When You Were Young
06. Read My Mind
07. For Reasons Unknown
08. Human
09. Spaceman
10. A Dustland Fairytale
11. Runaways
12. Miss Atomic Bomb
13. The Way It Was
14. Shot At the Night
15. Just Another Girl
16. Mr. Brightside (Original Demo)
17. When You Were Young (Calvin Harris Remix)
18. Be Still

Among the new material is "Shot At the Night", a collaboration between The Killers and M83's Anthony Gonzalez, which you can listen below.

Ian Curtis' Personal Writings And Lyrics To Be Published Next Year

A collection of Ian Curtis' personal writings titled 'So This Is Permanence: Lyrics and Notebooks' will be published by Faber & Faber. 

The book, edited by author Jon Savage, comes accompanied with a foreword by his widow Deborah Curtis, and will featuere facsimile pages of the singer's notebooks alongside the lyrics for Joy Division classics like "Love Will Tear Us Apart" and "Atmosphere".

So This Is Permanence is described as "a collection of the intensely personal writings of one of the most enigmatic and influential songwriters and performers of the late Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis. Interspersed with the lyrics are previously unpublished facsimile pages of Ian’s notebooks, which throw his lyrics into relief and cast light on the creative process of this influential and legendary songwriter."

So This Is Permanence: Lyrics and Notebooks will be released next year.

Watch: MGMT Premiere Music Video For "Cool Song No. 2"

MGMT have premiered the video for "Cool Song No. 2", the second single taken from their just released self-titled third album, out via Columbia Records.

Directed by Isaiah Seret and filmed by Bradford Young, the surrealist video stars Michael K. Williams (from The Wire) and Boardwalk Empire's Chalky White, who plays a character called 'The Plant Hunter', a guy who spends his days turning genetically modified plants into drugs. 

Watch the video below.