Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Snapped Ankles Announce New LP 'Stunning Luxury'

East London art wave/post punk/krautrock band Snapped Ankles have announced the release of their new album titled 'Stunning Luxury'.

The follow-up to 2017's debut album Come Play The Trees, will be out on March 1st via The Leaf Label. Pre-order your copy here.

For this record, the log synths have been transformed into gaudy “To Let” and “For Sale” signs, which have become the new instrument of choice for the discerning woodwose. The sounds they eke out of the housing bubble are as frenzied and unstable as you’d expect. Dystopian bangers. Illicit thrills. Stunning Luxury moves quickly through life in the capital: microdosing mindfulness in the morning, a poisoned nod to the marketing department, investment portfolios and death by same day delivery.

The primal rhythms and forest chants are all present and correct. On the surface it’s hedonistic business as usual – a communal dance for the ages. But there’s a sense of discomfort too. There’s subversion, but it’s not clear who’s subverting who. There’s a message, but it’s often fragmented. Keep dancing. Keep foraging. Perhaps the woodwose are human after all…

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to their latest single "Drink and Glide", below.

01. Pestisound (Moving Out)
02. Tailpipe
03. Letter From Hampi Mountain
04. Rechargeable
05. Delivery Van
06. Three Steps To A Development
07. Skirmish In The Suburbs
08. Dial The Rings On A Tree
09. Drink And Glide
10. Dream And Formaldehyde


Tags: Snapped Ankles