Tuesday, October 30, 2012

The House Of Love To Release 3CD Deluxe Edition

The House of Love, are partnering with Cherry Red for a triple-disc reissue of their first album, due out on 26th November.

The House of Love, originally released on Creation Records in 1988 will now feature two discs of additional material culled from various singles and compilations, as well as 23 unreleased cuts, including live tracks, demos and alternate mixes.

The deluxe edition of THE HOUSE OF LOVE offers the band’s complete Creation recordings from 1987-1988, together with a raft of previously unissued bonus material. 

The package boasts all their Creation Records singles, from the original version of ‘Shine On’, ‘Real Animal’ and the US favourite ‘Christine’ (which reached #8 in the Modern Rock chart there) to their final single for the label, ‘Destroy The Heart’.

Disc 3 is devoted to nineteen hitherto unheard HOUSE OF LOVE demos, including two exclusive Guy Chadwick songs ‘Hold On Me’ and ‘Modern World’, which were never released! Also making their debut on CD is the rare 7” album freebie (two demos) and the ‘Flexidisc’ version of ‘Shine On’, together with Guy’s original demo of this song which eventually gave them a sizeable hit.

This 3-CD package is housed in a stylish Digipak with fresh sleeve-notes and rare images from the band’s photographer Suzie Gibbons.

The tracklisting for the forthcoming deluxe edition is as follows.

Disc 1: Original LP and demos from bonus 7"
  1. Christine
  2. Hope
  3. Road
  4. Sulphur
  5. Man to Child
  6. Salome
  7. Love in a Car
  8. Happy
  9. Fisherman’s Tale
  10. Touch Me
  11. Shine On (Demo)
  12. Christine (Demo)
Disc 2: Singles, B-sides and rarities
  1. Shine On
  2. Love
  3. Flow
  4. Real
  5. Plastic
  6. Nothing to Me
  7. The Hill
  8. Loneliness is a Gun
  9. The Hedonist
  10. Welt
  11. Destroy the Heart
  12. Blind
  13. Mr. Jo
  14. Destroy the Heart (Demo)
  15. Shine On (Fuck Version)
  16. I Don’t Know Why I Love You But I Do (Live)
  17. Love in a Car (Live)
  18. Destroy the Heart (Live)
  19. I Wanna Be Your Dog (Live)
Disc 3: Demos and alternates
  1. Shine On (Guy Chadwick Solo Demo)
  2. Touch Me (Demo 1)
  3. Real Animal (Demo)
  4. Happy (Demo 1)
  5. Hold on Me (16 Track Demo)
  6. Christine (16 Track Demo)
  7. Modern World (Demo)
  8. Salome (Alternate Mix)
  9. Man to Child (Alternate Mix)
  10. Hope (Alternate Mix)
  11. Love in a Car (Alternate Mix)
  12. Touch Me (Alternate Mix)
  13. Road (Alternate Mix)
  14. Fisherman’s Tale (Alternate Mix)
  15. Happy (Demo 2)
  16. Sulphur (Alternate Mix)
  17. Real Animal (16 Track Demo)
  18. Little Girl (alias Mr Jo)
  19. Shine On (Band Demo)
Disc 2, Tracks 1-3 released as Creation 12″ CRE-043T, 1987
Disc 2, Tracks 4-6 released as Creation 12″ CRE-044T, 1987
Disc 2, Tracks 7-8 released on Creation 12″ CRE-053T, 1988
Disc 2, Tracks 9-10 released on The House of Love compilation (Creation RTD/CRE 9-63 (DE), 1987)
Disc 2, Tracks 11-13 released as Creation 12″ CRE-057T, 1988
Disc 2, Tracks 14-15 from Pensioners on Ecstasy compilation (Creation CRELP 082, 1990)
Disc 2, Track 15 also from promo flexidisc (Creation CREFRE 5, 1988)
Disc 2, Tracks 16-19 and all tracks on Disc 3 previously unreleased