Wednesday, October 18, 2017

New Entry: Destroyer Reveals New Song "Cover From The Sun"

Canadian singer/songwriter Dan Bejar aka Destroyer has revealed his catchy new song “Cover From The Sun”.

The song is taken from the band's forthcoming album 'ken', sert to arrive next Friday (October 20) via Merge. Pre-order it here.

Ken's title was inspired by the Suede single "The Wild Ones" (from 1994's Dog Man Star). Bejar had this to say about the album, and the Suede connection, in a previous press release: "Sometime last year, I discovered that the original name for 'The Wild Ones' (one of the great English-language ballads of the last 100 years or so) was 'Ken.' I had an epiphany, I was physically struck by this information. In an attempt to hold on to this feeling, I decided to lift the original title of that song and use it for my own purposes. It's unclear to me what that purpose is, or what the connection is. I was not thinking about Suede when making this record. I was thinking about the last few years of the Thatcher era. Those were the years when music first really came at me like a sickness, I had it bad. Maybe 'The Wild Ones' speaks to that feeling, probably why Suede made no sense in America. I think 'ken' also means 'to know.'"

Have a listen below.

New Entry: Weezer Unveil New Single "Happy Hour"

Los Angeles indie rock/alt band Weezer have unveiled their brand new single "Happy Hour".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their forthcoming new album 'Pacific Daydream', which will hit the stores next Friday (October 27) through Crush/Atlantic. Pre-order your copy here.

About the track the band posted: "Happy Hour" like many cool weezer songs has a sad message wrapped in a sunny package. Sort of a companion piece to “Island In The Sun” from 2001, but instead of being a pure fantasy about an escape, the guy in ‘Happy Hour’ is chained to reality, looking around for a break from the routine. It’s not hard to relate, but unlike that guy, fortunately we have new weezer music to listen to!

Stream it below.


Tags: Weezer

New Entry: Artificial Pleasure Premiere New Single "Wound Up Tight"

London based electro/indie rock/dance band Artificial Pleasure have premiered their infectious new single "Wound Up Tight".

The song is out now and is the title track of their upcoming new EP, out on 8th December.

UPDATE 23/10/17: "Wound Up Tight" is our new Single of the Week!

Get the single here and  stream it below.


Tags: Artificial Pleasure

New Entry: Autobahn Unleash New Track "Execution/Rise"

Leeds-based post-punk band Autobahn have unleashed their new track "Execution/Rise".

The song taken from their upcoming sophomore album 'The Moral Crossing', which will be out on 3rd November through Tough Love Records and Felte. Pre-order your copy here.

Have a listen below.

Watch: Motorcade Air Visuals For "Walk With Me" And "Recover"

Dallas, TX indie rock/pop band Motorcade have aired visuals for their latest songs "Walk With Me" And "Recover".

Both tracks are part of our current playlist and are taken from their upcoming self-titled debut album, which will be out on January 19th via Idol Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Motorcade is Andrew Huffstettler (vox), James Henderson (keys), John Dufilho (bass), and Jeff Ryan (drums). The four members have been in various bands and have toured with various projects over the years including St. Vincent, The Apples in Stereo, The War on Drugs, The Deathray Davies, Baboon, Daniel Johnston, Cliffs of Insanity, Pleasant Grove, and The Baptist Generals.

Watch the clips below.

New Entry: Sego Release New Track "Sucker / Saint"

Los Angeles-based alternative/slacker punk duo Sego have released their brand new track "Sucker / Saint".

The song has been added to our current playlist and is out today (October 18). Get it here.

Stream it below.


Tags: Sego

New Entry: Johnny Kills Reveal New Single "Not So Bad"

Brighton/London/York garage/surf rock trio Johnny Kills have revealed their new single "Not So Bad".

The song was produced by Alex Greaves at The Nave studio in Leeds, and is out today (October 18). Grab it here.

Stream it below.


Tags: Johnny Kills

Watch: DIET. Reveal Music Video For "Take Me"

Melbourne surf pop/rock/jangle pop band DIET. have revealed the video for their latest single "Take Me".

The song is part of our current playlist.

The video was filmed by Errol Jack and produced by Jarred Kennedy. Check out below.


Watch: Winter and Trabants Drop Music Video For "Just Stay"

Brazilian-born,  L.A-based singer/songwriter Samira Winter (of the band Winter) and Los Angeles surf pop/rock band Trabants have dropped the video for their collaborative track "Just Stay".

The song is part of our current playlist and is out via Burger Records.

The video was directed by Lorena Alvarado. Watch it below.


Watch: STAY Share Music Video For "Always Here"

Barcelona neo-psych rock band Stay have shared the video for their latest single "Always Here".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their album 'The Mean Solar Times',  released last year via Picture in my Ear Records and produced by Owen Morris (Oasis "Definitely, Maybe" and The Verve "A Northern Soul"). 

It also features on the band's new EP 'Always here', which came out last month. Grab your copy here.

The video was directed by Joan Bosch. Watch it below.