Wednesday, May 18, 2011

New Order To Issue Unreleased Track

Some days ago legendary band New Order announced that an unpublished track would be released soon and today the mystery's been revealed.

The track is 'Hellbent' and will be available for the first time in an unique compilation, as Joy Division and New Order join forces in "‪Total: From Joy Division to New Order‬". 

It will be a 18-track compilation covering the most important songs of both, which goes from 1976 to 2005; the album's been mastered by Frank Arkwright, and the cover's design has been made by Factory Records' graphic designer and ex-director Peter Saville.

Today it's exactly 31 years ago that ‪Ian Kevin Curtis (15 July 1956 ‬-‪ 18 May 1980) committed suicide‬. Curtis ‪was the songwriter, lyricist, singer and occasional guitarist of the English post-punk band Joy Division. Suffering from epilepsy, a failing marriage, and bouts of depression, Curtis ‬ended his life‪, on the eve of Joy Division's first North American tour.‬

The compilation will be out ‪June 6 in the UK on Rhino Records. Here is the tracklist.

1. Joy Division, “Transmission” (From Factory Records FAC 13 7” Single)
2. Joy Division, “Love Will Tear Us Apart” (From Factory Records FAC23 7” Single)
3. Joy Division, “Isolation” (From Factory Records FAC25 12” Album)
4. Joy Division, “She’s Lost Control” (From Factory Records FACUS2 12” Single)
5. Joy Division, “Atmosphere” (From Sordide Sentimental SS33002 7” Single)
6. New Order, “Ceremony” (From Factory Records FAC33 7” Single)
7. New Order, “Temptation” (From Factory Records FAC63 7” Single)
8. New Order, “Blue Monday” (From Factory Records FAC73 12” Single)
9. New Order, “Thieves Like Us” (From Factory Records FAC103 12” Single)
10. New Order, “The Perfect Kiss” (From Factory Records FAC123 7” Single)
11. New Order, “Bizarre Love Triangle” (From Factory Records FAC163 7” Single)
12. New Order, “True Faith” (From Factory Records FAC183 7” Single)
13. New Order, “Fine Time” (From Factory Records FAC223 7” Single)
14. New Order, “World In Motion” (From Factory Records FAC293 7” Single)
15. New Order, “Regret” (From London Records NUO1 7” Single)
16. New Order, “Crystal” (From London Records NUOCD8 CD Single)
17. New Order, “Krafty” (From London Records NUOX13 12” Single)
18. New Order, “Hellbent” (Previously unreleased track)