Tuesday, June 01, 2021

Watch: The Joy Formidable Drop New Single/Video "Back To Nothing"

Welsh alt-rock band The Joy Formidable have dropped the video for their new single "Back To Nothing".

The song is taken from their forthcoming new album ‘Into The Blue’, set to arrive on August 20th. Pre-order it here

Watch/listen below.


Tags: The Joy Formidable

New Entry: Drug Store Romeos Unveil New Single "Secret Plan"

Hampshire indie band Drug Store Romeos have unveiled their new single "Secret Plan".

The song is taken from their upcoming debut studio album 'The world within our bedrooms', which will be available on 25th June through Fiction Records. Pre-order your copy here.

“‘Secret Plan’ was written during the first lockdown,” say the band, “when the only time I could write was between 2am-7am because I live with 12 very noisy people. I wanted to make a purple song so I turned off all lights apart from my colour changing bulb which I made a magenta purple. It was pitch black outside so I was totally immersed. The light guided me in the choice of tonality, and my situation and setting must have influenced the rhythm and notes. I think it turned out pretty purple.”

Take a listen below.

Spector Announce NEw LP 'Now Or Whenever', Stream "Catch You On The Way Back In"

London-based indie rock band Spector have announced the release of their new studio album 'Now Or Whenever', their first in six years.

The follow-up to 2015's Moth Boys, will be out on October 1st via their own Moth Noise imprint, featuring the new single "Catch You On The Way Back In". Pre-order it here.

Spector started work on Now or Whenever in the Spring of 2020. With band members locked down in different cities and countries, the core duo of Fred Macpherson and Jed Cullen opted for a more collaborative process than usual, working with friends and contemporaries both online and in the flesh where possible. An improvisatory approach to music and lyrics was encouraged, and in the absence of gigs the songs took on the idea of a theoretical concert of new material, delivered in the spirit of their impassioned live shows. The final songs were recorded in January 2021 at Coastal Sound, Liverpool by Rich Turvey (Blossoms, The Coral) who emphasised performances overproduction and heavier, stripped-down arrangements.

Inspired by the vocal stylings and layered harmonies of British folk-rock (Strawbs, Steeleye Span), the drunken riffs of American eighties alternative (The Replacements, Husker Dü) and the raucous energy of Antipodean pub rock (Th’ Dudes, The Radiators), Now or Whenever is the sound of Spector at their irreverent best. Lyrics explore themes of time, memory, hope, the near future, cars and emotionally repressed adult friendships, but a sense of positivity shines through the fatalistic musings the band have become synonymous with.

Speaking about the record as a whole, the band said it was inspired by the “paradoxically mundane/extreme present” that people the world over are currently living through. “In some ways this is our first proper guitar album”, said Fred.

“And the first album we’ve made in one studio in one sitting which is crazy. Next year will be the tenth anniversary of ‘Enjoy It While It Lasts’ which feels like forever, but I think it’s taken us that long to work out what’s good about us and how to capture it. Which kind of makes ‘Now Or Whenever’ both a sequel and a reboot. Had last year unfolded differently, maybe this would be our big depressing opus, but when positivity’s taken away you have to create your own, and somehow that’s left us with our most upbeat record yet.”

Speaking about the new single, Fred Macpherson said: “Catch You on the Way Back In’ is a 160bpm bon voyage: An “until next time” for when you don’t know how long the next time might be. It's music for closing and music for opening, and strangely both the first track we started for the album and the last before we didn’t see each other in the flesh for six months. It’s more of a drinking song than a thinking song, so it will probably make most sense when we’re all allowed in the same room again.”

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "Catch You On The Way Back In" below:

Now Or Whenever tracklist:
01. When Saturday Comes
02. Catch You On The Way Back In
03. Do You Wanna Drive
04. Norwegian Air
05. Funny Way of Showing It
06. No One Knows Better
07. I’m Not Crying You’re Crying
08. Bad Summer
09. D-Roy
10. This Time Next Year
11. An American Warehouse In London


Tags: Spector