Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Art d'Ecco Announces New LP 'In Standard Definition', Airs "TV God" New Video

British Columbia glam-rocker Art d'Ecco has announced the release of his new album 'In Standard Definition'.

For the follow-up to 2018's Trespasser, Art d’Ecco joined forces with producer/engineer Colin Stewart (Black Mountain, New Pornographers, Destroyer) in ocean-side studio The Hive. The record will be out in April 23rd through Paper Bag Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Adding substance to immaculate style, Art d’Ecco’s latest creation, In Standard Definition, commands attention with every turn. Like channel surfing on an old television set, watching grainy black and white movies or flickering slideshows starring a cross section of humanity, each all-analogue vignette holds up a mirror to pop culture and explores the curiosity of entertainment. 

Lyrically blurring fact and fiction, it swaggers from the glory days of La La Land’s golden age to today’s obsession with celebrity and its hold over us all. “No matter where you live or what language you speak, there’s an entertainment god for you,” d’Ecco tells. “Whether on TV or writing the books you read, it’s an odd sense of purpose we allocate to these humans whose talent is in distracting us from the doldrums of daily life. We’re constantly searching for something... glued to our phones... consuming various forms of entertainment. We feel less close with each other, and closer to the strangers who make us feel good.” 

In Standard Definition sees d’Ecco packing his heftiest punch yet. 

Check out the album's tracklist and the video for the new single "TV God" below.

In Standard Definition Track list:
01. Desires
02. TV God
03. Bird Of Prey
04. Nothing Ever Changes
05. I Am The Dancefloor
06. Head Rush
07. Channel 7 (Pilot Season)
08. In Standard Definition
09. Good Looks
10. The Message
11. Channel 11 (Reruns)
12. I Remember


Tags: Art d' Ecco