Monday, February 14, 2011

Radiohead To Release New Album 'The King of Limbs' on Saturday

Radiohead will release their new album, The King of Limbs, on Saturday, the band have confirmed in a surprise announcement.

The release was announced on Radiohead’s official website on Monday morning, with fans able to pre-order the record before the weekend.

The King of Limbs will be available as a download from Saturday for £6, while die-hard fans can buy a ‘newspaper album’ version for £30.

A post on the band’s website said The King of Limbs would be the ‘world’s first (perhaps) newspaper album, comprising of two vinyl records, a CD, larges sheets of artwork, 625 pieces of tiny artwork plus a full-colour piece of oxo-degradable plastic to hold it together.’

The King of Limbs is Radiohead’s eighth studio album and their first since 2007’s In Rainbows, which was released essentially for free with fans being given the chance to decide how much they wanted to pay for the record.

The physical version of The King of Limbs will be available on May 9, while all other versions will be available to download at the weekend.

The album will contain:

- Two clear 10" vinyl records in a purpose-built record sleeve.

- A compact disc.

- Many large sheets of artwork, 625 tiny pieces of artwork and a full-colour piece of oxo-de-gradeable plastic to hold it all together.

- One lucky owner of the digital version of The King Of Limbs, purchased from the website, will receive a signed 2 track 12" vinyl.

Pre-orders are being taken now, with the band also releasing the artwork. Little else is known about the album, with the full tracklisting due to be confirmed over the next few days.

Wednesday, February 09, 2011

The Rolling Stones To Release New Singles Boxset In April

Veteran rockers The Rolling Stones will add another collection to their ever expanding back catalogue when a new singles box-set is released in April.
The boxset, released April 11, will include a collection of singles from the past four decades.

'The Rolling Stones Singles (1971-2006)' will features such tracks as 1971's 'Brown Sugar' and '2006's 'Biggest Mistake'. The huge boxset contains 173 tracks, of which 83 are not available elsewhere, and a 32-page booklet which contains an interview with former bass player and band archivist Bill Wyman.

* 45 singles packed with rarities, re-mixes and live versions across 173 tracks!

* Comes in a striking pink box featuring the band’s trademark tongue design.

* Overflowing with all-time classic hits, collectable B-sides and hidden gems.

* Over 80 tracks not currently available on official releases!

* Taken from the original British, US and European singles.

* Lovingly replicating the original 7”, 12” and CD singles in miniature picture sleeves and labels.

* Also houses a 32-page hardback book packed with memorabilia, period photos, essay by renowned journalist, broadcaster and Stones expert Paul Sexton.

* Also features an exclusive new interview with Bill Wyman, the band’s former bassist and on-going archivist.

* Limited numbered edition

* The set will also be available digitally

* A limited 7" vinyl "Brown Sugar" for Record Store Day *April 16th 2011 will be released separately

Meanwhile, The Rolling Stones will almost certainly not be heading out on tour this year, according to reports.


Tags: The Rolling Stones

Sunday, February 06, 2011

Rock Guitarist Gary Moore Dies

Mr Moore, 58, was, originally from Belfast, and was a former member of the legendary Irish group Thin Lizzy.

Adam Parsons, who manages Thin Lizzy, told the BBC that Mr Moore had died in the early hours of Sunday morning. Mr Moore was originally drafted into Thin Lizzy by its singer Phil Lynott. He later gained acclaim for his solo work and was a former member of the Irish group Skid Row.
Moore was reportedly found dead in his luxury hotel room in the Costa del Sol. He was said to be on holiday at the time of his death.

A postmortem is due to be carried out later in nearby Malaga.

In a career dating back to the 1960s, Moore played with artists including Phil Lynott and Brian Downey as early as his secondary school days, leading him to a membership twice with Thin Lizzy.

Moore has shared the stage with such blues and rock luminaries as B.B. King, Albert King, COLOSSEUM II, Greg Lake and Skid Row (not to be confused with the glam metal band of the same name), and has had a successful solo career.

RIP Mr. Moore

Arctic Monkeys' Alex Turner To Release Solo Album Next Month

Alex Turner will release his first solo album next month.

The album consists of music taken from the forthcoming British film Submarine, directed by Richard Ayoade. Produced by James Ford of Simian Mobile Disco, the album is mainly acoustic guitar and piano based.

Turner, who is famous for his work with the Arctic Monkeys and Last Shadow Puppets will release the album digitally on 14th March according to a spokesman for Domino Records. The representative added that the project is a “completely separate release than the new Monkeys album”.

The film which was premièred at this year’s Sundance Film Festival follows the story of a 15 year old boy who wants to lose his virginity as well as trying to keep his parents together.

In relates news Arctic Monkeys are working on their fourth studio album which will be released later this year.

Tuesday, February 01, 2011

BOTM February 2011 - ALL MANKIND

All Mankind are a four-piece based in Sydney (Australia), composed of Rich, Dave, Gavin and Dorny. The quarter have gained a loyal following across the USA, UK, and Australia, having performed over 500 times in the last three years to more than 100,000 fans.

The band's live success has led to independent album sales in the thousands and award nominations for songwriting and performance in both Australia and America.

All Mankind finished recording their debut album titled 'Simple Desire' with eleven new tracks, in january 2011, produced and mixed by Mike Crossey (Arctic Monkeys, Razorlight, The Kooks and Mercury Prize-nominated act Foals) at The Motor Museum studios in Liverpool and will be available later this year. The album was also mixed by Crossey and mastered by Robin Schmidt (Razorlight, VV Brown, Tommy Sparks, Go:Audio) at 24_96 Mastering in Germany.

**Their track 'Open Your Eyes' reached the Top 50 in the category BEST TRACKS OF 2010 of Kool Rock Radio's Annual Report and their singles 'Can You Hear Me?', 'I Am Only' and "I've Been Looking For This" were also included in the TOP 200 of 2009.