Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Watch: The Academic Drop Music Video For "Not Your Summer"

Irish indie rock band The Academic have dropped the video for their latest single "Not Your Summer".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their brand new EP 'Community Spirit', which came out in July 16. Get it here.

Watch the clip below.


Black Marble Announces New LP 'Fast Idol', Drops "Somewhere"

Brooklyn, NY // L.A synth-wave/post punk artist Black Marble (aka Chris Stewart) has announced the release of his fourth studio album 'Fast Idol'.

The follow-up to 2019's Bigger Than Lifewill be out on October 22 through Sacred Bones Records, Stewart writes and plays everything himself. Pre-order it here

Fast Idol sees Stewart return to a sentiment and process that defined the earlier days of Black Marble, in a return to his intuitive song writing process where songs land as impressionistic snippets of daily conflicts, and people struggle with the challenge of trying to move through the world. “People don’t expect me to be responsible for altering their outlook or mood, they come to hear something that meets them where they are. I trusted on this record that if I stayed in that space and created things from that more mysterious place, it would connect with others.”

Melodies roll with the fizz and charm of Jacno and phrases repeated are electric torchlight ballads sung after hours in William Gibson’s San Francisco. 'Somewhere' opens in sombre herald, before dropping into a fast freeway tempo; the glassy synths and crisp beats cut through the anxious moods on 'Bodies' and 'Try' sits in a lineage with cult bands like Asylum Party. 'The Garden' is a journey through a post-apocalyptic cityscape, earthed by the pulse of a drum machine whereas 'Ship To Shore' could be a lost Oppenheimer Analysis B-side, and the album’s closer 'Brighter and Bigger' catches a sentiment like The Dadacomputer has learned to feel emotions.

"On my previous album I was more specific about the themes I was talking about," Stewart says. "Fast Idol goes back to the songwriting on my early records, where the themes were guided by intuition and instinct – often, their meanings only become clear to me after they're written."

Fast Idol sees Black Marble face the rising tide of uncertainty, leaving our future selves to trace its signal as its frequencies echo into an interstellar expanse, looking for a receiver. He says: "I want my music to stick with you after I leave, even though you might not feel like you’re any closer to knowing it." 

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "Somewhere", below.

Bigger Than Life Tracklist:
01. Somewhere
02. Bodies
03. Royal Walls
04. Try
05. The Garden
06. Say it First
07. Streetlight
08. Ceiling
09. Ship to Shore
10. Preoccupation
11. Brighter and Bigger


Tags: Black Marble

Dry Cleaning Unleash Double A Side Single "Bug Eggs​/​Tony Speaks!"

London post punk four-piece Dry Cleaning have unleashed their double a-side single "Bug Eggs​/​Tony Speaks!".

Recorded at Rockfield Studios in July and August 2020 during the session for their debut album 'New Long Leg', ‘Tony Speaks!’ was previously only available as a bonus track. Buy it here.

Take a listen below.

Watch: Ducktails Reveals Live Video For "Only A Fool"

Former Real Estate member Matt Mondanile's bedroom-pop project Ducktails, has revealed a live video for "Only A Fool".

The song b/w "Impression", is part of our current playlist and is taken from his upcoming new album (TBA). Get it here.

The video was filmed at the Old Carpet Factory in Hydra Island, Greece by Frank Holbein. Watch it below.


Tags: Ducktails