Tuesday, June 30, 2020

New Entry: Silque Unveil New Single "Luna"

Danish alt rock/pop band Silque have unveiled their  new single "Luna."

The song is out now via We Are Suburban. Stream it below.


Tags: Silque

Never Never Man Detail Debut LP 'Division', Share Short Film

London psych pop band Never Never Man have revealed details for their debut album 'Division'.

The 13-track album will be out on July 20th through Catch 21 Records. Band member Gavin Bowers describe the record as “an album about the constructs we come across in our everyday lives, the people we once were, the people we want to be and the people we are today and what keeps them so far apart in a very fractured society why must we have so much division in our lives.”

The band have also shared a short film by Leon Dee documenting the making of the record, featuring music from the album and footage shot during its creation.

Check out the album's tracklist and the short film, below

Division Tracklist:
01. Ever be
02. Someone Else’s Bed
03. More Than a Feeling
04. Big Guy
05. Lemon
06. Date Night
07. Lips
08. Flow
09. Klaus
10. Remember September
11. Why Does It Have To Be This Way
12. Fusion
13. The Fear

Watch: Fontaines D.C. Release New Single/Video "Televised Mind"

Dublin rock n' roll band Fontaines D.C. have released the video for their excellent new single "Televised Mind".

The song is taken from their upcoming second studio album "A Hero's Death", which will be out on 31st July through Partisan Records. Pre-order your copy here.

UPDATE 06/07/2020: "Televised Mind" is our new Single of the Week!

Frontman Grian Chatten explains: “This song is about the echo chamber and how personality gets stripped away by surrounding approval. People’s opinions get reinforced by constant agreement, and we’re robbed of our ability to feel wrong.

“We’re never really given the education of our own fallibility. People feign these great beliefs in order to appear trendy, as opposed to independently arriving at their own thoughts.

“We were listening to a lot of The Prodigy and The Brian Jonestown Massacre, specifically their song Open Heart Surgery. I was interested in extrapolating those types of chord progressions and capturing this droning, hypnotic feel. That last line repeated over and over, ‘What ya call it’ is a buffer expression that people used here in Dublin. It’s sort of like ‘umm’ or ‘well…’ – it’s what people say when they’re distracted.”

The video was directed by Hugh Mulhern. Watch it below.


Tags: Fontaines DC

Washed Out Announces New LP 'Purple Noon', Stream "Time to Walk Away"

Atlanta producer Ernest Greene chillwave/bedroom synth pop project Washed Out has announced the release of his fourth studio album 'Purple Noon'.

The follow-up to 2017’s Mister Mellow, was once again wrote, recorded, and produced by Greene, with mixing handled by frequent collaborator Ben H. Allen. It will be out on August 7 via Sub Pop. Pre-order your copy here.

Production of the album followed a brief stint of writing for other artists (most notably with Sudan Archives on her debut Athena) which enabled Greene to explore genres like R&B and modern pop for the first time. These brighter, more robust sounds made their way into the songs of Purple Noon and mark a new chapter in Greene’s growth both as a producer and songwriter. The vocals are front and center, tempos are slower, beats bolder, and overall, a more comprehensive depth of dynamics that has yet to be heard on a Washed Out record. One can hear the luxuriousness of Sade, the sonic bombast of Phil Collins, and the lush atmosphere of the great Balearic beat classics. 

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for his new single "Time to Walk Away," below.

Purple Noon Tracklist:
01. Too Late
02. Face Up
03. Time to Walk Away
04. Paralyzed
05. Reckless Desires
06. Game of Chance
07. Leave You Behind
08. Don’t Go
09. Hide
10. Haunt


Tags: Washed Out

A Certain Ratio Announce New LP 'LOCO', Stream "Always In Love"

Legendary Manchester post-punk/funk band A Certain Ratio have announced the release of their new album 'LOCO', their first in 12 years.

The 10-track album and their first since 2008’s Mind Made Up, will be out on September 25th via Mute. Pre-order your copy here.

ACR Loco feels like an accumulation of ACR's DNA from point zero in 1977 through to 2020 and sounds like a band who have effortlessly perfected their craft. An album to dance to, cry to, fall in love to and most importantly, to party to.

Loco was produced by the core ACR members Jez Kerr, Martin Moscrop and Donald Johnson, joined by long term partners Tony Quigley, Denise Johnson and Matt Steele, plus special guests Sink Ya Teeth’s Maria Uzor and Gemma Cullingford, Factory Floor’s Gabe Gurnsey and Manchester luminaries Mike Joyce and Eric Random.

Speaking of the project, Kerr explained that “this album is a culmination of everything we’ve ever done. It distils the different directions and styles that have run throughout the band’s career – one that began in the late ‘70s with Factory Records first ever 7” release.”

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to new single "Always In Love," below.

LOCO tracklisting:
01. Friends Around Us
02. Bouncy Bouncy
03. Yo Yo Gi
04. Supafreak
05. Always In Love
06. Family
07. Get A Grip
08. Berlin
09. What’s Wrong
10. Taxi Guy

Take a listen below.

Tags: A Certain Ratio

Death Bells Announce New LP 'New Signs of Life', Stream Title Track

Sydney dream pop/post-punk band Death Bells have announced the release of their sophomore album 'New Signs of Life'.

The follow-up to their 2017 debut Standing at the Edge of the World,  was produced and Mixed by Colin Knight at Paradise Studios, CA and will be out on September 25 via Dais Records. Pre-order it here.

After swapping hemispheres, the aussie outfit have found a new home in Los Angeles, emerging with a new album of fervent guitar-driven rock, stripped of gloom and punching through with a new sense of positivity. Energized by impulse, extensive touring and exploration led to the formation of an ambitious six-piece band that eventually coalesced as a collaboration between founding members Will Canning and Remy Veselis. With Canning and Veselis becoming the engine, Death Bells began to employ several underground mainstay musicians to complete their live presentation, including Cortland Gibson (Dock Hellis), Colin Knight (Object of Affection), and on occasion Brian Vega (Fearing).

The eponymous lead single is a grandiose statement, influenced by the theme song of HBO’s classic television program Six Feet Under. The lyrics are a shopping list of personal neuroses charged with wry optimism, dressed with jagged guitars, brass, and percussion providing a deliberate pace for Death Bell’s new chapter. As method gives way to melody, New Signs of Life exudes an urgent hope laced with drive and verve. .

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for "New Signs of Life", below.

New Signs of Life Tracklist:
01. Heavenly Bodies
02. Two Thousand and Twenty
03. New Signs of Life
04. Web of Love
05. The Sun That Shines Forever
06. A Different Kind of Happy
07. Alison
08. Sacred
09. Shot Down (Falling)


Tags: Death Bells