Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Bloc Party Announce New LP 'Alpha Games', Stream "Traps"

British indie rock band Bloc Party have announced the release of their sixth studio album 'Alpha Games', their first in over six years.

The follow-up to 2016's album Hymns, was produced by Nick Launay and Adam Greenspan (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, IDLES), and will be out on April 29 via Infectious/BMG. Pre-order your copy here.

“Alpha Games was conceived on the road, playing in front of amazing crowds on our last tour and then brought to life with the fire and the frustrations of 2020,” says Kele Okereke on Bloc Party’s first new album in seven years.

The first Bloc Party album written and recorded as this four piece; adding the musicality of Justin Harris (bass) and the unbridled energy and power of Louise Bartle on the drums to capture the spark of their live shows and to deliver the most exciting Bloc Party album yet.

“We wanted to can what was happening at those massive gigs in 2019, to showcase what Louise can do, what Russell is capable of and most importantly the electricity coming off the audience. We knew that Nick & Adam were the right choice of producers to do that and the result feels like fire in a bottle.”

The 12 tracks of Alpha Games veer from the intense & confrontational (Traps, Day Drinker) to melodic and introspective (If We Get Caught, By Any Means Necessary) and marks a new and important chapter in one of music’s most important voices in Kele Okereke and important bands in Bloc Party.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to lead single "Traps" below.

Alpha Games Tracklist:
01. Day Drinker
02. Traps
03. You Should Know The Truth
04. Callum Is A Snake
05. Rough Justice
06. The Girls Are Fighting
07. Of Things Yet to Come
08. Sex Magik
09. By Any Means Necessary
10. In Situ
11. If We Get Caught
12. The Peace Offering

New Entry: Jetstream Pony Air New Song "Behind the Eyes"

Anglo-american indie supergroup Jetstream Pony (consisting of former and current members of Luxemburg Signal, The Wedding Present, Turbocat and Trembling Blue Stars) have aired their new song "Behind the Eyes".

It is taken from their upcoming six-track mini album 'Misplaced Words', set to arrive on November 27 via Shelflife Records. Pre-order it here.

Stream it below.


Watch: N0V3L Drop Music Video For "VIOLENT & PARANOID"

Vancouver new punk/post-punk band NOV3L have dropped the video for their latest single "VIOLENT & PARANOID".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their debut studio album ‘NON-FICTION’, release in May this year via Flemish Eye Records & Meat Machine. Get your copy here.

Watch the video below.