Wednesday, June 09, 2021

W. H. Lung Announce Debut LP 'Vanities', Stream "Pearl in the Palm"

Manchester psych/post-punk band W. H. Lung have announced the release of their second studio album 'Vanities'.

The follow-up to 2019's debut Incidental Music, will be out on 3rd September via Melodic Records and was written with a process of passing ideas back and forth, in a spirit of playfulness and exploration. The songs were then further refined in the studio of band member Chris Mulligan (guitar, bass, keys), a producer in his own right, who helped to further refine the arrangement and directness of the songs. Pre-order your copy here

'Vanities' is a bold electronic leap forward into the dance music they love. A record that is direct, punchy and potent - an ode to the dance floor that they had missed over the last year or so. 

Singer Joe Evans explains. “We wanted to move away from easing people in and grab them by the heart straight away. I reflected on how we played live shows and romanticised about launching onto the stage in a bundle of energy and starting the party, no messing. The directness comes from making music more intuitively, and more from a place of fun. We were writing music that affirmed how much we missed dancing in sweaty rooms, enjoying the company of a collection of beautiful friendly strangers.”

Pearl in the Palm’ is the first single. “A transition from the old W. H. Lung to new,” says Tom. It marries pulsing synths, galloping drums and a vocal take that is both caramel smooth but also fervently intense.

Perhaps most remarkable thing about 'Vanities' - aside from the unflinching new sonic leaps it takes - is that the band have taken a dormant year void of live experiences, sweaty clubs, or anything resembling fun times, and have made an album that makes that world feel palpable – that you can crawl inside it. “Lockdown gave me the time to pour work into myself and out came this wonderful album,” reflects Joe. “It was strange at first and I missed seeing my mates and having a laugh and dancing but this album is a direct reflection of creative flow brought on by the space given to us.”

'Vanities' is a very rare beast of a record: an album created in solitude that feels bursting with vitality and the love, promise and transcendence of shared dance floor experiences. Just in time for when we crave those the most. 

Check out the tracklist and watch the video for "Pearl in the Palm" below.

Vanities Tracklist:
01. Calm Down
02. Gd Tym
03. Pearl In The Palm
04. Ways Of Seeing
05. ARPi
06. Showstopper
07. Figure With Flowers
08. Somebody Like
09. Kaya


Tags: W.H. Lung

Watch: Inhaler Premiere "It Won't Always Be Like This" Lyric Video

Dublin rock n roll four-piece Inhaler have premiered a lyric video for "It Won't Always Be Like This".

The song is taken from highly-anticipated debut album 'It Won’t Always Be Like This', which will be out on 16th July via Polydor Records. Pre-order your copy here.

From the band: This song has been with us as long as we can remember being a band. The title always meant something special to us, but even more so in recent times. Six words to hang on to, holding out for better days. We hope you love it as much as we do - It Won't Always Be Like This, song and video out everywhere."

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Inhaler

Watch: Dlina Volny Unleash Music Video For "Redrum"

Minsk, Belarus post punk/new wave/cold wave trio Dlina Volny have unleashed the video for "Redrum".

The song "a dark story of a twisted broken heart that seeks revenge," is part of our current playlist and came out in February via Italians Do It Better. Grab it here.

Watch the clip below.


Tags: Dlina Volny