Friday, September 21, 2012

The Jam To Reissue Final Studio Album ‘The Gift’ For 30th Anniversary

The Jam will celebrate the 30th anniversary of their final studio album "The Gift" with an expansive reissue.

The legendary band's only UK number one album was a clear sign of the new directions being explored by frontman Paul Weller by the early Eighties; a desire for change which would see him ultimately quit the band and form The Style Council soon after its release in 1982.

"I was very proud of it – I thought it was another advance on what we'd done before," Weller has said of the LP.

The reissue will be out on November 19th, and is to be available in a variety of different formats which will be packed with added extras and bonus features.

Amongst these is a four-disc boxset which will coPopcomplete with a 'Live At Wembley 1982' CD as well as a compilation DVD of live performances and a Top Of The Pops appearance. A CD of alternate tracks and demos, many of them previously unreleased, is also included.

Super-deluxe boxset tracklist:

Disc One – Original album / Singles & B-Sides
1. Happy Together
2. Ghosts
3. Precious
4. Just Who Is The 5 O'clock Hero
5. "Trans-Global Express"
6. Running On The Spot
7. Circus
8. The Planner's Dream Goes Wrong
9. Carnation
10. Town Called Malice
11. The Gift
12. Precious (12")
13. The Great Depression
14. The Bitterest Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow)
15. Pity Poor Alfie / Fever
16. Pity Poor Alfie (swing version)
17. Beat Surrender
18. Shopping
19. Move On Up
20. Stoned Out Of My Mind
21. War

Disc Two – Demos & alternate tracks
1. Skirt (demo)
2. Get Yourself Together (demo)
3. Ghosts (instrumental demo)
4.Just Who Is The 5 O'clock Hero (demo)
5. Running On The Spot (demo)
6. The Planner’s Dream Goes Wrong (demo)
7. Carnation (instrumental demo)
8. Precious (demo)
9. The Bitterest Pill (demo)
10. Alfie (demo ‘2’)
11. We've Only Started (‘old version’)
12. Only Started (instrumental demo)
13. Shopping (AKA 'Paul's demo')
14. Beat Surrender (demo)
15. Solid Bond In Your Heart (demo)

Disc Three – Live at Wembley (Dec. 3rd 1982)
1. Start!
2. It's Too Bad
3. Beat Surrender
4. Away From The Numbers
5. Ghosts
6. In The Crowd
7. Boy About Town
8. So Sad About Us
9. All Mod Cons
10. To Be Someone
11. Smithers-Jones
12. That's Entertainment
13. The Great Depression
14. Precious
15. Move On Up
16. Circus
17. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
18. David Watts
19. Mr Clean
20. Town Called Malice
21. But I'm Different Now
22. "Trans-Global Express"
23. In The City

Disc 4 – DVD
Part 1: Trans-Global Unity Express
Part 2: The promo videos
Part 3: Danish TV special
Part 4: Top Of The Pops, February 18th 1982