Thursday, February 12, 2015

Visage Lead Singer Steve Strange Dies, Aged 55

Steve Strange, the renowned Blitz Kid and Welsh pop singer who fronted '80s new wave group Visage, has died, his record label says.

Strange's death has been confirmed by the Visage Facebook page revealing that he had died in Egypt. The statement reads:

We are extremely saddened to announce that Steve Strange died at 11.15 local time on Thursday 12th February, in Sharm El Sheik International Hospital, Egypt. Steve died in his sleep, of Heart Failure. Steve’s family, band members and friends are all distraught at this sudden news of his untimely death. Steve’s family request privacy at this extremely difficult time.

The Welsh pop singer found fame in the 1980s as frontman for Visage whose best known hit was "Fade To Grey" and released Visage's fourth studio album (and their first is 29 years) 'Hearts And Knives' in 2013.

R.I.P. Steve Strange, you will be missed.

Paul Weller Announces New Album 'Saturns Pattern', Airs Video For "White Sky"

Former frontman of The Jam and The Style Council, Paul Weller has announced he will release his 12th studio album titled 'Saturns Pattern' on May 11.

The follow up to 2012's Sonik Kicks was recorded at Black Barn Studios in Surrey, produced by Jan "Stan" Kybert and features guests including The Strypes' Josh McClorey and The Jam's original guitarist Steve Brookes. It will be Weller's first album for Warner Bros. Records. 

Talking of the album's sound to Uncut magazine, Weller said: "I can't compare it to any of my other albums. I think it's different not just for me, but different from what else is around." 

Pre-order the album here, and check out the tracklist and the video for lead single "White Sky" below.

01. White Sky
02. Saturns Pattern
03. Going My Way
04. Long Time
05. Pick It Up
06. I'm Where I Should Be
07. Phoenix
08. In The Car...
09. These City Streets

Watch: U2 Release Short Film For "Every Breaking Wave"

Irish rock group U2 have released a short film directed by Aoife McArdle, for their latest single "Every Breaking Wave".

Set on the streets early 80s Northern Ireland, Every Breaking Wave is built around themes of emotional abandon and the uncertainty of romantic relationships. It follows two teenagers who fall in love amidst ongoing violence. 

The short film's emotional core is centered around "Every Breaking Wave" and "The Troubles," two tracks drawn from U2's most recent album 'Songs of Innocence'.

Take a look below.

New Entry: Early Ghost Unveil New Single "Devil’s Got Me Now"

UK psych rock/folk band Early Ghost have unveiled their new psychedelic single "Devil's Got Me Now".

About the track, bandmember Mike O'Malley said: "When we started writing this song, I think half of us secretly wanted it to be a Stones 'Let It Bleed' outtake and the other half wanted it to be a Led Zeppelin III outtake. I like to think we met somewhere in the middle.

Lyrically the song details unshakeable issues with the idea of sleeping, bouts of paranoia and problems with the personal association that sleep equals death. This song is facing up to that a bit".

The single will be released on March 23, have a listen below.


Watch: The Vacant Lots Share New Video For "6 AM (Alan Vega Remix)"

Burlington, Vermont psych/rock duo The Vacant Lots (aka Jared Artaud and Brian MacFadyen) have shared the video for the Alan Vega remix of "6 AM".

The song is part of our current playlist and will be released as a 7'' single on March 16th. It is taken from the band's debut album 'Departure', released in June last year via Sonic Cathedral. Get the single here.

The video was directed by Stephanie Elizabeth Third , who explains: "Almost at random I began to make trippy, unsettling and dark imagery that I felt hinted at the themes of the song's lyrics: death and the chase. The footage is a mix of scenes filmed in my studio as well as found footage from old horror stock; I thought the hysteria from these snippets would add a bit of gallows humour to the piece."

Watch it below.

Watch: GROOMS Air Music Video For New Single "Cross Off"

Brooklyn slack-pop band Grooms have aired the video for their new single "Cross Off". 

The song is part of our current playlist, and is taken from their fourth studio album 'Comb the Feelings Through Your Hair', which will be released next week (February 17) via Western Vinyl. Pre-order your copy here.

Directed by the band and filmed in frontman Travis Johnson's apartment, the video features new drummer, Steve Levine, who is also an actor and comedian. Watch it below.


Wire Announce New Album, Stream "Joust & Jostle"

Seminal UK post-punk band Wire have announced they will release their 13th studio album, simply entitled 'Wire', in April 21 through their own pinkflag imprint.

According to a press release, the self-titled effort comprises material that was written with the album in mind, but toured extensively first, as well as songs that singer and guitarist Colin Newman introduced to the group in the studio just prior to recording. The idea was to get the most spontaneous reaction possible from the musicians, and far from the rough and ready results one might expect from such a tack, Wire is full of swooning pop melodies with a 60s tinge and an irresistible, near motorik rhythmic momentum. One can recognise certain melodic inflections, guitar and bass motifs, and drum rhythms from Wire’s idiosyncratic vocabulary but it has a remarkable freshness.

The basic tracks were recorded at Rockfield Studios near Monmouth, with overdubs added at Brighton Electric last December following the group’s DRILL : BRIGHTON Festival. The 11 tracks selected for release were the ones that came together most naturally. Pre-order your copy here.

The band are also streaming the album's lead single "Joust & Jostle". Check out the tracklist and listen to the track below.

Wire Tracklist:
01. Blogging
02. Shifting
03. Burning Bridges
04. In Manchester
05. High
06. Sleep-Walking
07. Joust & Jostle
08. Swallow
09. Split Your Ends
10. Octopus
11. Harpooned


Watch: Peace Unleash Music Video For "Imaginary"

Birmingham psych-rockers Peace have unleashed the video for their latest single "Imaginary".

The song is part of our current playlist and is a bonus track from their sophomore album 'Happy People', released this past Monday (February 9) on Columbia. Buy your copy here.

The colourful video was directed by creative duo A Very Successful Business. Watch it below.