Thursday, November 12, 2020

Watch: Night Tapes Drop Lyric Video For "Fever Dream Kids"

London dream pop band Night Tapes have dropped a lyric video for their latest single "Fever Dream Kids".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their upcoming EP 'Download Spirit', which will be available on the 27th November through Breaker Breaker. Pre-order your copy here.

Night Tapes started out as evening jams between housemates Max Doohan, Sam Richards and Iiris Vesik in London. Night time London, genre-blending, multi-fidelity recordings and honest reflection contribute to their atmospheric soundscapes that ultimately make for fresh and envelope pushing dream pop.

“Download Spirit” is their most ambitious project yet, recorded through lockdown and featuring an array of vibes from the lo-fi dreamy laidback “Fever Dream Kids” to the punchy existential “ Truly Being Alive” and soft and vulnerable “In Poly Amber” that make for an emotional and vibrant journey.

Watch the clip below.

New Entry: Public Body Premiere New Single "Table Manners"

Brighton post punk/alt band Public Body have premiered their new single "Table Manners".

The song is out today (November 12). Get it here.

“When I was writing the synth bits I was picturing the Rugrats song and I guess that was probably the biggest influence musically,” says frontman Seb Gilmore.

Graphic designer and artist Emil Mniszko, who created the “Table Manners” artwork, adds this: “You are sitting in the lobby, a ghostly jingle drifts through the airwaves while a mute screen shows familiar suited men seated around a large circular table. The calendar says 2020, but that can’t be right. Memories of an information age fall away as the spectres of a forgotten future pass into you.”

Stream it below.


Tags: Public Body

Django Django Announce New LP 'Glowing In The Dark', Stream Title Track

British indie/art rock band Django Django have announced the release of their new album 'Glowing In The Dark'.

The follow-up to 2018’s Marble Skies, was produced by the band, it features their latest single "Spirals", and will be out on February 12 2021 released through Because Music. Pre-order your copy here.

Glowing in the Dark has a running theme of escape: from despair, from constraints, from small town life, and even, in dreams, from the Earth. The brilliant title track and new single, for instance, soars gloriously towards the stratosphere. A track built around a sample from one of Dave Maclean’s spoken word records then plushly upholstered with Moog synths and drum loops, it is accompanied by some eye strobing visuals from rapidly ascending NYC artist and illustrator Braulio Amado.

UPDATE 16/11/2020: "Glowing in the Dark" is our new Single of the Week!

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "Glowing In The Dark" below.

Glowing In The Dark Tracklist:
02. Right The Wrongs
03. Got Me Worried
04. Waking Up Feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg
05. Free From Gravity
06. Headrush
07. The Ark
08. Night Of The Buffalo
09. The World Will Turn
10. Kick The Devil Out
11. Glowing In The Dark
12. Hold Fast
13. Asking For More

Tags: Django Django

The Paper Kites Announce New LP 'Roses', Stream "Without Your Love (feat. Julia Stone)"

Melbourne indie pop band The Paper Kites have announced the release of their fifth studio album 'Roses'.

The follow-up to 2018's On the Train Ride Home, was produced by Sam Bentley & Tom Iansek (#1 Dads, Big Scary) and will be out on March 12th 2021. Pre-order your copy here.

With their brand of weather-beaten ballads and rain drenched pop, the 10 track album bleeds with gentle significance, full of power and sentimentality.

Featuring a powerhouse of female accompanists in Lucy Rose (UK), Julia Stone (AU), Nadia Reid (NZ), Maro (PT), Aoife O'Donovan (US), Rosie Carney (IE), Ainslie Wills(AU), Amanda Bergman (SE), Lydia Cole (NZ) and Gena Rose Bruce (AU), 'Roses' is the first collaborative release from the band.

Roses is a testament to sincere, patient and understated songwriting. A deeply moving collection of songs, helmed by a cherished selection of artists. With Roses, the band deliver one of their most earnest and thoughtful albums, a treasured record to pick up off the busy street and keep with you.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to their new single "Without Your Love (feat. Julia Stone)", below.

Roses tracklisting:
01. Walk Above The City (feat. Maro)
02. Climb On Your Tears (feat. Aoife O’Donovan)
03. Dearest (feat. Lydia Cole)
04. Steal My Heart Away (feat. Ainslie Wills)
05. Without Your Love (feat. Julia Stone)
06. Crossfire (feat. Amanda Bergman)
07. Lonely (feat. Gena Rose Bruce)
08. Take Me Home (feat. Nadia Reid)
09. For All You Give (feat. Lucy Rose)
10. By My Side (feat. Rosie Carney)

New Entry: Margot Unveil New Single "Falling In Between Days"

London indie rock/dream pop/alt five-piece Margot have unveiled their new single "Falling In Between Days".

The song follows up to "Walk With Me" released earlier this year. Both tracks will appear on the forthcoming 7” single due for release on February 19th 2021. Pre-order it here

From the band: It's about a mate. It's certainly a tragedy. He's had a hardship of sorts.
He's got a life to look forward, for sure, and so do all of us, but things external, out of his control, took over. He had started to rebuild, to see beyond the internal damp colours, he had a life back. And after losing the comfort of the person he loved, and after coming to terms with all of the pain and the rubble, all the regret, he had a pandemic. Lost job, no soulmate and back living with his family at 27.

He dreamed of an ideal life; he dreamt that he could change his circumstances, he fought against a raging brute that cared little for his dreams, for his determination. He just had to sit and wait, sit and wait, and be still with his ambitions.
It's about fear, loss, uncertainty, pain, hope and then the recoiling turgid desire for familiarity.

Stream it below.


Tags: Margot

Watch: The Calls Share New Single/Video "I Should've Known"

Leeds indie/psych trio The Calls have revealed the video for their newest single "I Should've Known".

The song is our upcoming EP 'Fall Inside Again', set to arrive on November 20.

Speaking about the EP, vocalist and songwriter Tom Fuller says: “The EP marks a point in the band’s progression. There are more soundscapes going on than in our previous ‘The Night the World Stood Still’ EP; the DNA of singable hooks, jangly guitars and rhythms are all still there, but there’s a distinct atmosphere to these tracks which is a clear movement towards the sound that we envision. There are more diverse influences coming in too, with reggae, dub and trip hop, particularly on ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’ and ‘Tell Me Why’, and a shoegaze element to ‘I Should’ve Known’. It adds to the mix of our sound and, in the end, we’ve got an EP which we think doesn’t sound like anyone else.”

Watch/listen below.

Fall Inside Again EP Tracklist:
02. Tell Me Why
03. I Just Thought I'd Say
04. I Should've Known
05. A Change Is Gonna Come Around Here


Tags: The Calls

New Entry: Nation Of Language Premiere New Single "A Different Kind of Life"

Brooklyn post punk/new wave/synth-pop outfit Nation Of Language have unleashed their new single "A Different Kind of Life"

The song is out today (November 12). Get it here.

The band released their highly-anticipated debut album 'Introduction, Presence', in May this year.

Take a listen below.


Tags: Nation Of Language

Watch: The Pale White Release New Single/Video "Glue"

Newcastle indie rock band The Pale White have released the video for their new single "Glue".

The song is out today (November 12). Grab it here.

Watch/listen below.